View Single Post
Old 10-31-2008, 06:10 AM

Pronounced knocking on front end.........W123

I will spare you the details and try to get to the point...I have been chasing down a front suspension knocking noise for 6 months...the noise occurs in vicinity of hubs, both front wheels, but more pronounced on right. I have now completed a complete rebuild of front end, including:

Upper control arms (UCA)
Lower control arm (LCA) bushings
tie rods
drag link
ball joints
guide rod mounts (at foot wells)
guide rod mounts (at LCA)
rebuilt brake calipers
new rotors
new wheel bearings & grease seals

The noise I hear is a definite pronounced bump, bump, bump that happens when I drive over "washboard surface" from 10 to about 35 mph (dirt roads, railroad tracks, road patch, etc.)...sounds kind of like a bad ball joint.

I always thought the noise was suspension related, and not brake related, so only recently did I drive over washboard surface with brakes applied and not applied, and the noise does not happen when brakes are applied. When brakes are applied, the suspension sounds as tight as a new ferrari (almost), and when brakes are not applied, bam, bam, bam, bam.

I applied brake pad sticky stuff to the backs of the pads the other night, and this had absolutely no effect. Can anyone suggest what the noise might be.

Here is everything under the sun that I can think of:

1. Brake pads knocking? (not likely since sticky stuff had no effect, but maybe the old brake pad springs I have are weak...I will try putting in new brake pad springs...the brake pad pins are fine and tight, so it cant be them)
2. Brake caliper pistons knocking inside of caliper housing ?(If they were that loose, wouldn't they leak? I did rebuilt them, pistons are held in place by rubber o-ring and rubber seal...maybe the rebuild kit I used had squishy o-rings...not likely)