View Single Post
Old 07-18-2017, 06:42 AM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mxfrank View Post
I have a lot of experience with Jaguar, where even a change of brake pads requires the rear subframe to come out. For that reason, I think that any subframe work is best done by dropping it out of the car. It's really an easy job...support the body on solid stands, undo the driveshaft and parking brake cables. Remove the LCA bolts from the shocks and sway bar links. Remove the springs. You may have to remove the muffler. Place a jack under the differential and take the weight off the mounts. Then undo the four bolts that hold the frame to the body and drop it out. It sounds like a lot, and the first time through it may seem harder. But it's an hour and a half''s work to get it out, and after that, anything you need to do is easy, from replacing the center to replacing mounts to doing all the control arms. Otherwise, everything is an on-your-back struggle.
additionally dismount and hang the calipers and get behind the rear seat, unplug the differential ABS sensor wire connector and remove the screw holding the clamp securing the wire in place, push the sensor pigtail/connector/rubber chassis grommet down and out under the car so it's free and clear. Push the fuel filler drain hose up and out of the hole in the sub-frame through which it passes and is friction fit. My experience is that disconnecting the ABS sensor is far easier and better than attempting to remove that sensor from the hole in the diff where it resides, often times it's bound in very tight and very likely some rust corrosion. if by chance for some reason that sensor has to be removed from its place it uses a very thin O-Ring that is not easily sourced except from MB and it has to be used or it will always leak. If the sensor is stuck hard it can be easily broken trying to wrestle it out.