View Single Post
Old 05-23-2005, 01:39 PM

Trying to diagnose A/C system

First off, here's the car I bought: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=4549279201 . The two important parts regarding the a/c system are:

Items of note that have been replaced in the last few years include the radiator, the glow plugs, and the A/C compressor/associated system (new refrigerant compatible).

And:

The power antenna does not work properly nor does the A/C cool properly (needs recharging).

Now let me say, I know that sometimes (or oftentimes), the a/c needs more than a simple recharge, and I went into this knowing that it could need some repairs. Also let me say that I'm no car mechanic, but I am able to do basic tasks given the right tools.

I have no idea how to tell exactly what parts of the a/c system have indeed been replaced and what has not. I do believe the guy, he pointed out a lot of little things, I doubt he would lie about replacing parts of the a/c system. I do suspect the hoses weren't replaced, they appear to have the adapters put on them that you'd get with the R134a conversion kit (I can take pics if needed). I bought one can of refrigerant with leak sealer, and several plain cans. I followed the instructions to the "T". Start the car, engage the a/c, shake the can vigorously, connect the hose, hold can upside down and wait (yes, I did turn the screw to open the can and again to let it flow through). Now, I have since read that one should NOT hold the can upside down? That it should be held right-side up else it could cause damage? I swear though, the can says to hold it upside down, I even double-checked the instructions. So now, I'm confused.