View Single Post
Old 07-12-2005, 10:23 AM
Strong, silent type

There is a DIY article here on how to replace the wiring harness. It has step by step instructions and pictures. I can't recall for which engine it was. It seems like a fairly straight-forward thing to do, not any more difficult than changing plug wires.

My daughter's 300TE had some stalling issues. Enrique at Mr. M.B. MOTORS diagnosed the problem as a wiring harness issue. Before ordering a new wiring harness, Enrique took the time to check the wiring and was able to locate the culprit. Some wires were cahnged/re-routed and now the car runs great. We did not need to change the entire harness.

I know we all wish that MB would fix all of our cars' problems. But I have to tell you, I have owned many different brands of cars, it is hard to find a car built as solidly as the W124 or the W126 bodies (I have no experience with newer Benzes). My daughter's 300TE has 190k on the clock and it runs like a champ. Several years ago I sold my '84 300SD with over 300k on the clock, that car is still running strong. The new owners (family friends) still drive it on a daily basis and they love it. BTW, the husband is a German engineer and he loves diesels. I sold my '91 420SEL with almost 250K on the clock. That car is still running great. The new owner took care of the few problems that it had and she loves her "new" car.

By contrast, I now drive a 1999 Seville SLS. Talk about a POS. It has 48k miles and it has been in the family since it was new (it was Dad's car). Since October of last year it has had over $6k worth of tranny work. Fortunately for me, I bought an extended warranty, so all the repair bills have been paid for by GM. I, however, shudder to think what will happen when the extended warranty expires.