View Single Post
Old 12-12-2009, 02:33 PM

Follow up before work is done.

Thank you! Those were very detailed responses so I have some detailed questions:

" I wouldn't pull the engine. Before starting CLEAN EVERYTHING!"

Man, I have. I have used some serious gallons of simple green - and it has been done several times. I know that my cam cover does leak but could this really be causing all of the mess I see? I know that everything flows downward so technically, it is possible. But I have put on new gaskets and the cover doesn't seem inordinately warped. I have checked it with a straight edge ruler.

"First I would do the manifold. Maybe you dont need to have the manifold/turbo/plumbing right out of the car."

That is true, the engine doesn't need to be out to do the exhaust manifold. I was just using it as a way to make me feel better about doing 2 big jobs - i.e. if i have the engine out, it will be easier to do the manifold gasket. Since I am not a real mechanic, I have learned to move slowly and think things through and usually do one job at a time, even if it takes longer because then I have one can of worms open at a time and it simplifies my troubleshooting. BUT, if I have the engine out, it will be easier to do the manifold gasket at that time which I can accept as being a rational workflow combination.

"It may be easier to pull the transmission back enough to get at the back of the motor. It may be possible to do the seal then."