I'm no expert with these electronic boxes, that's for sure, but, as I understand it, "DELETE" simply eliminates the capability for you to see the document anymore. It does not physically remove it from the drive. The only way to guarantee that it is no longer on the drive is to fill the drive up fully with new material.
Supposedly, this is how the government nails people with things that they have supposedly "deleted".
Might it be possible for Bill to investigate this?