Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old 04-12-2009, 07:53 PM
Fold on dotted line
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Mich
Posts: 3,285
Is this a scam or for real?

A friend called me up all panicked because his computer had gotten locked up.
The computer does its POST and goes immediately to a website page called the Privacy Center.
It scans and says there's all kinds of things wrong with his computer such as spyware, license fees, registry errors etc., and they want a clean 100 bucks to fix it all.

I told him to diconnect his Internet and wait.

It smells like a scam to get credit card numbers and info.

The page uses the URL http://dl765.privacy-update.com/licenses .

I looked this up on WHOIS.net and got nowhere, ditto Google

I went to this site and it looks like it's a parking spot for other links.

Anybody ever see this?
__________________
Strelnik
Invest in America: Buy a Congressman!

1950 170SD
1951 Citroen 11BN
1953 Citroen 11BNF limo
1953 220a project
1959 180D
1960 190D
1960 Borgward Isabella TS 2dr
1983 240D daily driver
1983 380SL
1990 350SDL daily driver alt
3 x Citroen DS21M, down from 5
3 x Citroen 2CV, down from 6
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2026, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2026 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page