Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2017, 01:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
190E Weird problem - stereo won't turn on?

Hey all,

I recently picked up a 93 190E 2.6 Sportline in good shape for cheap.

The first thing it needed outside of brakes was a new radio - the aftermarket Sony that was in it was a bit flaky and had no aux port.

So I bought a cheap one off Amazon and went to install it. Immediately noticed the PO didn't install it with a harness but still no big deal, I have installed probably 25 stereos in my life.

The issue I've run into is the cheap one didn't power on. I assumed it was because it was cheap so I tried a known good Pioneer - also didn't power on.

I've checked all the wiring and I used a multimeter to test all the power - ground is good, switched is good, constant is good. All test just fine but the radio will NOT turn on or get power.

I assumed it was a ground issue but I don't see a good location to relocate the ground to - I tested it on a few spots just to see if it power (holding it to the potential ground) and nothing. I also checked the fuses just to be sure - good to go.

The weird thing is that the Sony that was in it worked - it powered on and played music, etc... so what would stop TWO other HUs from working if the prior did work?

Open to suggestions.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2017, 05:15 AM
optimusprime's Avatar
Trevor Hadlington
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Worcestershire in England
Posts: 1,206
I would think your doing this with the key on,thats if you know about them . Is everything else working in the car ?.If you have 12 volts and earth ,only other thing is- fuse inside the radio itself you may need to open it up to find it . With a wire and a battery try it out again ..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2017, 11:08 AM
Diseasel300's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 4,650
Use a 12V light bulb and make sure that your power and ground are actually good solid connections that can handle current. You can be fooled by using a multimeter, sometimes you can read voltage, but the circuit is faulty enough that it can't pass current. A light bulb will light if the circuit is good, but won't if it's bad since it draws a fair bit of current.

Also worth checking is the fuses themselves. If they're the aluminum type, hit the trash with them and install the modern brass or copper replacements. The aluminum style are notorious for developing fractures and failing at inopportune times.
__________________
'11 Honda Accord EX - "The Daily" 64K
'83 500SL Euro - "The Money Pit" 116K
'91 350SD - "The Diseasel Jr." 168K
'86 300SDL - "The Diseasel" 189K (Totaled 1/31/19)
The Diseasel Thread - Everything You Didn't Know You Wanted To Know
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2017, 02:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseasel300 View Post
Use a 12V light bulb and make sure that your power and ground are actually good solid connections that can handle current. You can be fooled by using a multimeter, sometimes you can read voltage, but the circuit is faulty enough that it can't pass current. A light bulb will light if the circuit is good, but won't if it's bad since it draws a fair bit of current.

Also worth checking is the fuses themselves. If they're the aluminum type, hit the trash with them and install the modern brass or copper replacements. The aluminum style are notorious for developing fractures and failing at inopportune times.
Thanks!

After using a light on the 12v constant, it doesn't light up. Still shows power on the multimeter.

It's possible its a fuse still, even if it isn't blown right?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2017, 04:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,148
The display does not light up or no sound from speakers?

This car might have a separate amp in the trunk.

Make sure your ground is an actual ground not to a piece of metal in the dash that is electrically floating. ( insulated )

You could always jumper the radio power feeds to a single wire and to the battery for a test. ( be sure to have a fuse / breaker in the line )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page