Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2018, 05:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 58
Becker radio error code E 2

1992 300E Becker radio failed. Antenna goes up. No signals received. Rebooted by disconnecting battery. Entered radio code. Radio works for a few seconds and shuts off. Error code E2 shows on the radio. Checked fuses and the 7.5 amp fuse on the turner in the trunk OK and have 12 volts going to the turner in trunk.
Car has been sitting for about 4 months. Any thing else I need to check or do?
__________________
Handyjay
__________________
Handyjay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2018, 05:30 AM
optimusprime's Avatar
Trevor Hadlington
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Worcestershire in England
Posts: 1,093
Just try fitting an extra earth lead from body to radio chassis .Or to the tuner in the trunk is it a tuner or amp ?. I would add another earths to mast in boot .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2018, 06:04 AM
optimusprime's Avatar
Trevor Hadlington
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Worcestershire in England
Posts: 1,093
Handyjay .
I just find this for you . Without cd changer
1 input power to receiver unit in the trunk is missing check the 12 volt feed .
2 Fuse of the receiver unit in the trunk is open replace the 7.5 amp fuse
3 The bus cable [greywire] that comes to the head unit [dash mounted] to the receiever unit in the trunk mounted is not connected or is faulty
4 Receiver in trunk is defective .

With cd changer
1 Input power to receiver is missing 12 volt feed
2 Check the receiverunit for open fuse replace with a fuse rated 7.5 amp
3 Input power to dc changrrtrunk mounted is missing
4 Bus cable [grey colour] is defective or faulty.
5 Cd changer is defective disconnect cd from head unit if E2 code disappears replace cd changer
6 Receiver unit trunk mounted is faulty .
Good luck /
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2018, 12:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 58
Current status: 1. I have 12 volts to amp
2. 7.5 amp fuse OK
Added ground to amp and radio worked fine. Disconnected the additional ground and radio still works fine. I have ordered removal tools to check head unit connection. Maybe the connection at the amp was the problem and I just unplugged and replugged the connection there. Will wait and see what happens and will let all know. Thanks for your input.
__________________
Handyjay
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2018, 06:42 AM
optimusprime's Avatar
Trevor Hadlington
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Worcestershire in England
Posts: 1,093
handyjay ,,good and thank you for your reply .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page