Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
 
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    


Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2002, 01:10 AM
petek
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Radio Replace In 1991 300E

I'm trying to replace the becker grand prix 1432 in my '91 300e with and aftermarket cd player (JVC KD-SX980). Right now, about all I know how to do it take out the old head unit (thanks to JCE's article). Can anyone tell me how to go about doing this? Will the powered antenna still work after the install? I don't care about using the fader switch in the center console. Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2002, 01:45 AM
petek
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
BTW, my car has the Activ bass speakers on the sides of the driver and passenger doors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2002, 02:28 AM
petek
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've spent a late night answering my own questions tonight, but I only have a couple left.

My new head unit will have 4 amps, so if I bypass the fader switch as per JCE's following diagram, and connect the four wires individually to my head unit, will all six of my speakers still work?

Also, power and automattic antenna seem simple enough. But for the actual antenna i need to run a cable from the back correct?




Once, again thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2002, 03:15 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
Here is the proper diagram for your car. The fader control in your car doesn't connect to the speakers, it is a pre amp signal. You will need to run wires to the rear of your car to hook up not only your antenna but also your speakers.

Scott@lajollaaudio
Attached Thumbnails
Radio Replace In 1991 300E-radio-amp-diagram-mini.jpg  
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2002, 03:17 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
Here is the radio diagram
Attached Thumbnails
Radio Replace In 1991 300E-radio-diagram-mini.jpg  
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2002, 06:01 PM
petek
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Scott,

Thanks so much for the diagrams, but I'm having a trouble following them. For convienience sake, is it possible to just plug in the existing speaker wires that are connected to the becker to my new head unit rather than rewiring all six speakers directly? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2002, 10:14 PM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
It is really not that much more work to wire to the speakers. There are four channels only so you just need to run 4 pairs of wires to the trunk and tie in to all 4 at the amplifier outputs. This is the best way to do it so you can have a reliable system without having the old amps still hooked up. If you didn't have to already run the antenna coax to the rear I would understand you noot wanting to do all that work but it is the best long term reilable way to do it.

Scott@lajollaaudio
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2002, 11:06 PM
petek
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Scott, you've been a tremendous help. Now all I need is for my new head unit to get here so I can install it!

So, from your posts and others I've read here's what needs to be done:

1. ground, ignition, illumination, power, and power antenna can all be hooked up from the from of the car.
2. run 4 speaker wires from the head unit to the amp in back
3. run an antenna wire from the head unit to the tuner in back

Am I correct in assuming that this setup completely bypasses the fader switch in the console? Also, are there any other wiring details I need to know about before I take the plunge? Thanks again, and I'll update here with how everything goes as soon as it gets done (flawlessly, hopefully).

-Pete
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2002, 11:55 PM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
No except the power for the new deck is going to need a 15 to 20 amp circuit. I usually run a wire directly to the battery with an inline fuse holder at the battery and I use 12 to 14 guage wire. There is an easy grommet to go through behind the battery and if you remove the glove box liner it is an easy wire run. By the way the fader will be bypassed.

Scott
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2002, 11:55 PM
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page