Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2003, 01:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 36
Question was I shafted?

Just had a kenwood installed in my '81 380sl at Best Buy. Not knowing a single thing about stereos, I thought one of you guys could fill me in...First of all, I thought it was kind of ridiculous that you spend 500 bucks and they charge an extra 150 bucks to install it! Plus, since the speakers I want in the back are bigger than the ones in it, I would have to cut the holes myself because they won't. Anyway, I opted to just pay $50 to have the unit put in the dash and I would do the rest. Had a appointment for 10:00. Show up, they look at it and say that the unit in it (stock Becker) is pre-amped (?) so they would have to bypass it and it would cost me $160.00! It took them 4 1/2 hours to get it done! My question is, was this pre-amp bypass necessary? Because the people that worked on my car were very unprofessional and if I got shafted, I intend to raise a BIG stink! Thanks in advance for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2003, 01:36 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
What radio was in your car? Was it a becker 611or 612? There isn't any rocket science needed to work on your car. It is simple and straight forward so I don't know why they would have taken so long. It is obvious you took it to the wrong place.

Scott@lajollaaudio
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2003, 01:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 36
not real sure if it's a 611 or 612 (it's out in the trunk of the car), I'll get back to you on that. I do know that it's pretty simple. am/fm cassette, with manual dials and "push in" selector buttons. Nothing electronic or digital (if that makes the difference?)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2003, 12:26 PM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
You had a becker mexico and the only thing with that is it has a small amp that is connected with an ambilical cord that sits behind the glove box. There is nothing complicated with this

Scott@lajollaaudio
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2003, 07:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 36
Just went out to check it out and it had a becker europa #599.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page