Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2003, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 47
2000 E320 wagon CD Changer

Will a CD Changer from a 1999 E430 work in a 2000 Wagon? Anyone have installation intructions specifically for the wagons? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2003, 10:06 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
Yes it will, and the wagon everything is in the right rear side panel pocket. It should be an easy install plug and play. Here is a pic.

Scott@lajollaaudio
Attached Thumbnails
2000 E320 wagon CD Changer-stock-cd-changer-mini.jpg  
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2003, 08:58 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
The changer itself WILL work, but the bracket is way different.
The radio will need to be reprogrammed to reflect the addition of the changer, and if the vehicle that the changer came out of is still being operated (not totalled), that radio will also need to be reprogrammed.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2003, 04:07 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
La Jolla Audio

Registered: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 641
This is a pic of a 210 wgn without a cd changer and it already has the bracket from the factory in it.All you need is the bolts! I have said this before and I know others say that you have to program the car but it will not hurt anything to hook it up and test it.The worst case is you have to go to the dealer and have them program it. I have never yet had a problem with the stock system working properly after adding a stock fiber optic cd changer and I have done more than 100. Just test it and let me know!

Scott@lajollaaudio

SCLJA has attached this image:
Attached Thumbnails
2000 E320 wagon CD Changer-amp-cd-bracket.jpg  
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2003, 06:16 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
I believe if he has the BOSE system, the amp will be there in the bracket. If he doesn't have BOSe there won't be a bracket there at all, or an amp. It almost seems there is a second part the changer bolts to that bolts to the amp bracket, I could be wrong.

In regards to programming the radio, I have had several (many) complaints in regards to sound system being completely inoperative (locks up), or the radio not recognizing the cd changer or cd magazine (radio displays "NO CD" or "NO MAGAZINE") which was caused by the optical ring configuration not being changed in the radio. I agree this does not actually damage anything, and that initially everything may seem just fine. The system may work for a considerable time period before a problem occurs. But sure, you could try it without reprogramming as "a test".

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2003, 06:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 47
thanks for the replys!

I do have the BOSE system and it was a simple plug and play operation. I didn't mount it to the bracket yet because the first aid kit is holding it just fine by wedging the kit in there! Finally found a use for it! So far, it seems to be working fine, If it dies later on,. then I'll have it reprgrammed. How much does that coast and can it be done yourself?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2003, 11:18 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
It's not a do it yourself job. It requires, i believe, the MB "SDS" computer found at the dealership and some independents. It will vary on the charge to do this. In some cases we would do this for free at the dealer I work at. If we were made aware that the owner just wanted the programming changed, we'd do it free I would say, I know we have done it for free before anyways. If we weren't told this, and the car was brought in for a diagnosis for a complaint, such as "CD changer inop" etc, and this ended up being the cause, the tech may want to flag some time for figuring out this was the problem, which seems fair.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page