Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2003, 10:12 PM
wjm's Avatar
wjm wjm is offline
Statman
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Suburban Detroit, MI
Posts: 692
Install Help Alpine CDA-9815 into 94 E420

Sorry.. reposting with better subject line......

Folks,

I'm planning on replacing the head unit in my 94 E420 (Becker 1692) with an Alpine CDA-9815.

I've contacted Becker USA and purchases a harness that connects into the current vehicle wiring so that I don't have to do any cutting. I plan to make becker to alpine harness using the harness I purchased plus the one that comes with the radio. I should be able to figure out the wiring using the following:
http://www.beckerautosound.com/1492.html

My questions:

Aside from making the new harness, is there ANYTHING ELSE that I'm missing?

Do I use the current Amp (assuming I have one)? If so, how do I wire it in? Or should I wire around it?

How about the current speakers; can I leave them in for now and upgrade later?

Will this head unit fit nicely, or do I need to retrofit?

Do I need an adapter for the antenna lead?

Lastly, the diagram in the link above seems to indicate leads for 4 speakers. .... yet I believe I have 6 (2 front, 2 door, 2 rear) right? If so, can someone explain the discreptancy?

Any help/comments would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2003, 11:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 405
I believe there are a few Alpine 9815's in use on 500E's.
Hedpe and Shanta might have them if I recall correctly.

IMO bypass the becker amps and fader in the console.
The Alpine amp is probably cleaner/stronger.

Best of luck....
__________________
Bryan Harter
1992 500E Smoke Silver
2002 CLK55 AMG Cab Silver/Black
2001 Harley Fatboy - Pearl White
2004 F150 FX4 Silver/Grey
1969 GTO Liberty Blue
1956 F100 Black
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2003, 02:29 PM
wjm's Avatar
wjm wjm is offline
Statman
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Suburban Detroit, MI
Posts: 692
OK.

These is not console fader in the 94.

I was wondering if the following statement from another thread was actually true:

I replaced it with an Alpine 7977 MP3 XM Ready CD Head Unit. However, the only units that work with the MB wiring are OEM Becker, so they had to rewire my entire car, including new leads to all the speakers.

Willy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2003, 03:23 PM
Female Pimp
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 458
Willy,

Here is my take...

I have owned 3 W124's and in 1 of them I know for sure all of the wiring was redone, but I am not sure if it "had" to be redone, but i think it is easier to redo the wiring to some respect.

If you go with the Alpine 9815 you should hook it up to an external (non factory) AMP. If you get a wiring harness for your E420 you don't have to be bothered with cutting and slicing the factory wiring harness. One thing to take note of is that the Alpine requires a direct connection to the battery because of it's high power.

If you really have questions about car audio and the W124 do a search for Scott or Cleeve at La Jolla Audio. Both of these guys partiipate actively in this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2003, 03:02 AM
wjm's Avatar
wjm wjm is offline
Statman
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Suburban Detroit, MI
Posts: 692
Shanta....

Why do you recommend an external (non factory) AMP?
Isn't the built in amp of the Alpine CDA-9815 already more powerful than the factory amp?

I was planning on installing the new radio and just bypassing the factory amps. I believe I can bypass the amps by unplugging connectors and jumping some of the wires. For more info, see:

94 E420 - Amp wiring diagram

Willy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2003, 10:28 AM
Female Pimp
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 458
I am not sure of the power of the factory amp, so I don't know if the Alpine is more powerfull or not.

I just recommend an external amp becase it is my preference for pushing the speakers.


Once you change the head unit eventually you may want to change the speakers and then you want to change something else. I just recommend do it right the first time, because the second time around you wll be kicking yourself for not doing it the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2003, 12:42 PM
wjm's Avatar
wjm wjm is offline
Statman
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Suburban Detroit, MI
Posts: 692
OK, thanks!!

The method I'm using to bypasss the current Amp will allow me to easily wire in an amp later should I need one. I talked to someone who assured me that the CDA-9815 puts out much more power than the factory amp.

Willy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page