Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2010, 12:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 352
WHAT? My oil light is on? WHY

As Iím driving to work this morning my OIL LIGHT comes on, it takes my brain a full 2 seconds to freak out and turn the car off and drop it into neutral. I was going UP a hill and then coasted down the hill, down the exit ramp, and down the feeder and next to a shell station. At least god takes care of me sometimes. I really shouldnít complain. So I get out pop the hood and check the oil itís at the Ĺ mark. Just like I always put it not too high, not to low just right, so I check it again. SAME. Damn, I must be going crazy, and Iím to young to go crazy.

So I start the car back up again, and all the lights go off but the oil light, then after about 4 seconds it goes off. I let the car idle and pull it slowly into the parking lot. (Yes, I was still on the feeder, with cars racing by like they are in NASCAR. I let it idle for about 3 minutes and then turn it off, and back on again. NO LIGHT.

So then off I drive the rest of the 10 miles at about 30mph (traffic) to work without a problem. I changed the oil about 2 months ago with AMSOIL, and a standard MANN filter. At the end of the month, Iíll be dropping in another MANN FILTER like I always do and Iíve been using Amsoil for years. Iím freaking out. I mean I can drive my truck around, but please itís not a MB.

I changed out the timing chain about 9 months ago. Could my oil pump be going out, could it be a bad fuse? I did change over my fuses to the correct MB cooper fuses about a week ago. But that canít be it. I havenít had any issues at all with fuses. Going crazy and scared to drive my car any help would be great.

Thanks Michael
__________________
Professional greasecar installer
Austin TX


98 Jetta TDI with grease car kit + veg-therm (totaled)
87 MB 300SDL running on B99 / greasecar kit + 30 fphe
www.austingreaseguys.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2010, 12:09 PM
rrgrassi's Avatar
mmmmmm Diesel...
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Royse City Tx
Posts: 4,872
Any knocking from the engine?

Does your car have a working oil pressure guage?

Could be a bad pressure sender as well.
__________________
RRGrassi


70's SPM #5608 Fairmont A-4 MOW car

06 VW Jetta TDI 210K miles

03 VW Golf TDI 5 speed 372K Miles

RIP--Lost in fire...82 300D 322K was My Daily Driver-On the search for a w126 now...

90 Dodge D250 5.9 Cummins/5 speed. 350K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2010, 12:12 PM
TX76513's Avatar
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brandon, Mississippi
Posts: 5,203
If its the SDL the light is a low oil level indicator not low pressure. Check your oil level. My SDL oil light will come on once in a blue moon just to give me a wake up call (heart attack). But I have never found an issue with oil level or pressure. Just an old car hick-up
__________________
BENZ THERE DONE THAThttp://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/...c/progress.gif
15 VW Passat TDI
00 E420
98 E300 DT
97 E420 Donor Car - NEED PARTS? PM ME!
97 S500
97 E300D
86 Holden Jackaroo Turbo D
86 300SDL
(o\|/o)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2010, 12:44 PM
vstech's Avatar
DD MOD, HVAC,MCP,Mac,GMAC
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 26,243
I think those level lights are flakey. also, you were going uphill, perhaps the oil was off the sensor long enough to trip the light.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:17 PM
92 300D 2.5L OBK #59
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central FL
Posts: 1,108
The oil level at 1/2 and transversing hills. Sounds like the sensor worked as advertised.
__________________
92 300D 2.5L OM602 OBK #59
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:20 PM
TylerH860's Avatar
KHAAAAAAN-gress
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wichita, Ks
Posts: 5,187
Don't worry about it.
__________________
1985 500SL Euro w/ AMG bits 130k
1984 300SD Turbodiesel 192k
1980 240D Stick China 188k
2001 CLK55 AMG 101k
2007 S600 Biturbo 149k Overheated Project, IT'S ALIVE!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:22 PM
Jeremy5848's Avatar
Registered Biodiesel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sonoma Wine Country
Posts: 8,394
The oil level float switch does fail occasionally. I've replaced a couple of them. They are about $40 and you have to drain the oil pan so do the job during an oil change. The float switch is on the left side of the oil pan and is secured by two screws. Make sure you replace the o-ring seal also.
__________________

"Buster" in the '95

Our all-biodiesel family
1995 E300D (W124) . .239,000 miles My car
1996 E300D (W210) . .313,000 miles Wife's car
Santa Rosa population 170,685 (2012)
Total. . . . . . . . . . . . 722,685
"Oh lord won't you buy me a Mercedes Benz."
-- Janis Joplin, October 1, 1970
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:26 PM
MBeige's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstech View Post
I think those level lights are flakey. also, you were going uphill, perhaps the oil was off the sensor long enough to trip the light.
Agreed, the change in inclines probably caused the light to turn on momentarily.

This happens to my 190E as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2010, 01:33 PM
TX76513's Avatar
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brandon, Mississippi
Posts: 5,203
It is an interesting wake up call when it happens.
__________________
BENZ THERE DONE THAThttp://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/...c/progress.gif
15 VW Passat TDI
00 E420
98 E300 DT
97 E420 Donor Car - NEED PARTS? PM ME!
97 S500
97 E300D
86 Holden Jackaroo Turbo D
86 300SDL
(o\|/o)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2010, 04:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 352
Okay, that keeps my mind in check. So I need to change out the float switch that is located on the left side of the engine and has two bolts holding it on. I can totally do that.

My pressure gauge was and is working just fine and the engine wasn't making any noise at all.

I'm so glad that it's just a sensor that I need to replace. Off I go to find out how has this sensor switch.
__________________
Professional greasecar installer
Austin TX


98 Jetta TDI with grease car kit + veg-therm (totaled)
87 MB 300SDL running on B99 / greasecar kit + 30 fphe
www.austingreaseguys.com
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-05-2010, 04:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 352
You are the man. Thanks for the help everyone, I've found the part I need. I'll check to see if Phil has it, makes me feel dirty if I have to order from anyone else.

Here is what it looks like for the next person that has this issue.

http://www.autopartsworld.com/results/?PN=4294895916&N=0&VN=4294967241+4294966748+4294965203+4294967247+4294967124&Nr=AND(universal:0)

And Gasket
http://www.autopartsworld.com/results/?PN=4294895914&N=0&VN=4294967241+4294966748+4294965203+4294967247+4294967124&Nr=AND(universal:0)

Thanks again.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy5848 View Post
The oil level float switch does fail occasionally. I've replaced a couple of them. They are about $40 and you have to drain the oil pan so do the job during an oil change. The float switch is on the left side of the oil pan and is secured by two screws. Make sure you replace the o-ring seal also.
__________________
Professional greasecar installer
Austin TX


98 Jetta TDI with grease car kit + veg-therm (totaled)
87 MB 300SDL running on B99 / greasecar kit + 30 fphe
www.austingreaseguys.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2010, 11:04 PM
layback40's Avatar
Not Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Victoria Australia - down under!!
Posts: 4,023
On my TD, when the oil level is 1/2 way between the high & low, if I brake hard or turn sharp to the left, the light comes on for a few seconds. When the level is close to the minimum mark it comes on more often. When it is at the full mark it never comes on. Makes me wonder about the rational about running the level 1/2 way between the 2 marks.
__________________
Grumpy Old Diesel Owners Club group

I no longer question authority, I annoy authority. More effect, less effort....

1967 230-6 auto parts car. rust bucket.
1980 300D now parts car 800k miles
1984 300D 500k miles
1987 250td 160k miles English import
2001 jeep turbo diesel 130k miles
1998 jeep tdi ~ followed me home. Needs a turbo.
1968 Ford F750 truck. 6-354 diesel conversion.
Other toys ~J.D.,Cat & GM ~ mainly earth moving
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-06-2010, 03:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 352
That's a good point. I was thinking about that last night, so I added more amsoil to just right under the full mark. But then I start to worry if I'm adding to much oil. God there is something wrong with me. LOL

But really the oil level sensor is working correctly. I drop to work today and went up and down some over passes and the light never came on.

Cheapest fix ever.
__________________
Professional greasecar installer
Austin TX


98 Jetta TDI with grease car kit + veg-therm (totaled)
87 MB 300SDL running on B99 / greasecar kit + 30 fphe
www.austingreaseguys.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-06-2010, 05:29 PM
hey_allen's Avatar
greasy fingered tinkerer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 728
For a good while I've suspected that the half full argument is caused by a slow leak from the turbo drain tube where it hits the oil pan.

In my engine that I just installed in my SD, the oil was visible in the tube's attachment hole when the engine was sitting level in the garage, and at less than full on the dip stick.

I'm guessing that a seal in less than perfect shape, combined with a higher oil level would promote the leaking of oil, down to wherever it balanced out. The half-full mark, possibly?
__________________
-Josh
Testing the cheap Mercedes axiom, one bolt at a time...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:26 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
I've been running my Mercedes engines at the full mark for almost 20years now, ... haven't had a consumption issue. Either it is pre-124, a myth, or something like Josh is postulating.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page