Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-09-2016, 10:54 PM
Rogviler's Avatar
Unpurist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 684
^That is some great info, thanks for posting it.

So I'm guessing the single wire from the sensor grounds the circuit. Although I've found some strange wiring methods on these cars, so I've learned to never assume. But if that's the case you would just wire up a light and have the ground go to the sensor wire. Wish it was easy to test is all.

-Rog
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-10-2016, 10:02 AM
Shadetree
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Back in SC upstate
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogviler View Post
^That is some great info, thanks for posting it.

So I'm guessing the single wire from the sensor grounds the circuit. Although I've found some strange wiring methods on these cars, so I've learned to never assume. But if that's the case you would just wire up a light and have the ground go to the sensor wire. Wish it was easy to test is all.

-Rog
My issue with a system which put a light in the ground circuit would be the bulb failing which would cause the circuit to fail.

If I wanted a light to tell me when the ALDA is limiting boost I'd run a hot off of one of the fuses and splice into the BR/BK going to the intake sensor.

Since the BR/BK goes through the main ele loom and into the lower cavity of the fuse box that is where I'd make the connection. It would also give access to the bottom of the fuse bus which would accommodate the attachment of the hot for that light to a fuse.

That entire fuse bus comes up by removing two screws from the front of the platform and lifting the platform while pulling it toward the front of the car. with a little tug the frontmost part of the bus will lift straight up allowing for work in the lower cavity of the fuse box.

The ground connection could also be done in a connector, C153 which is mounted vertical on the diagnostic plug housing, connector pin #3. Fishing the wire through the fuse box would be the tough part of that exercise. I wouldn't trust another path due to the possibility that a faulty ground would trigger the ALDA and limit boost.
__________________
84 300SD
85 380SE
83 528e
95 318ic
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-10-2016, 12:35 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,431
At least the warning light also informs you of a ground fault Do you really need such a thing? Don't you know your car well enough to wonder, "Dang, she's particularly peppy today... " In a previous life I added warning lights to a turbo gasser for fuel cut (its version of overboost protection) and knock sensor frequency.

Sixto
83 300SD

Last edited by sixto; 09-10-2016 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-10-2016, 02:32 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
If the overboost switch gets activated you'll know... it will pulse on and off and you'll feel it in the engine's power.

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-10-2016, 03:14 PM
Rogviler's Avatar
Unpurist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 684
If you have no ALDA and or switchover valve then a light would be helpful I think.

I think I was too casual in my explanation of my thoughts on the light... I'm not saying to put the light in line with the sensor wire, but for the light to have its own power on one side and then ground via the sensor wire in parallel with the switchover valve.

I know people have done this, as I've seen mention of it. Just not sure where they spliced in.

-Rog
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page