Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2003, 11:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 287
Too much oil in my A/C?

On my 84 300SD, my low side reads 40 psi. Shouldn't the metal line feel like 40 degrees? I have 68 degree discharge air with 90 degree ambient air. Could I have too much oil in the lines?

When I originally bought the car, the oil would bubble out of the schaeder valve whenever I removed the gauges. I knew then there was too much oil in the system. I flushed the system with an air gun and got quite a bit of oil out of the condenser, evaporator, and compressor. I put 4 oz in the compressor, 2 oz in the evaporator and 2 oz in the condensor.

Could there still too much oil? How is the best way to get all of the oil of the system and start from scratch with new oil?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2003, 11:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
That sounds like a mess...
You flush the whole system and put back in the proper amount.
It is very bad to have too much oil in the system.
You do NOT flush 1. the compressor (you just empty it manually)
2. the expansion valve
3. the evaporator ( although some books say you do )
4. to do the condensor properly you may have to take it out of the vehicle and be able to rotate it.
5 . the Reciever/dryer ( you put in a new one )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2003, 12:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 287
The bearings on my compressor were fine. But, there was so much oil in the system when I bought the car that compressor clutch squeked at idle speed. It also was at least a 30 hp drag on the engine.

With the flushing I did, I can barely feel the compressor drag the engine. The compressor is quiet and the clutch does not slip. Now the system runs mineral oil and Duracool instead of 134a and PAG oil (I assume).

I have a new H-block. Those are difficult to put in.

It is bad to have too much oil. Oil won't cool like refrigerant.

If the low side is 40 psi, shouldn't the pipe feel like 40 degrees not like 68, and is that sign of too much oil?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2003, 12:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
VWbuge, I can tell what you are about to ask so I will go ahead and answer you ....

If you will do a search,,, I know that a chart has been posted, maybe generic.. and maybe some have put up the amounts for your specific machine....

Well,,, ok ,,, let me try to cover what you may have been meaning also...

Are you thinking that the bearing went out because you had too little oil in the system ? In that case you flush and start over measureing and adding oil to each part as specified...

If you do not suspect that... then what the books say is to carefully measure the amount in each of those two items... and put in exactly that amount of fresh clean newly opened oil back into the new ones ....

However, I do not think the Delco 4 cylinder has a resevoir for oil like the others....it just works on what is transported through it by the refrigerant ( which carries the oil with it )...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2003, 12:55 AM
vwbuge's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,106
My system was previously converted to R134a. Since then a bearing seems to be moaning in the compressor. I just bought a new comp and drier. When I install these items how much oil do I need to dump in the comp and then in-line?
__________________
'85 300SD (formerly california emissions)
'02 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
'04 VW Passat W8 (6spd manual) SOLD!!
'68/'69 Empi Imp body on '65 Beetle pan
'93 Ducati 900 SS
'79 Kawasaki KZ 650
'86 Kawasaki KX 250
'72 Triumph T100R
'70 Yamaha R5 Rat Bike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2003, 01:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
I have never read of any way to check to see if you have too much oil... it is either flush and measure the correct amount into it... or replace what is lost when replacing a particular part... other than that there is no way to tell.. unless you lock up the compressor or something like that...
Attached Thumbnails
Too much oil in my A/C?-acoil.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2003, 06:44 AM
LarryBible
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
In the case of replacing compressor and drier it is important to know WHY you're replacing the compressor. If it is just a shaft seal leaking, then you can get by with replacing it and adding a few ounces, but I personally would not do that. I would flush the entire system and put in the correct amount of oil. I say this without knowing the system. If everything else had been working well and it had never been recharged then just adding whatever volume you could get out of the original compressor would probably be okay.

In the case of replacing for a leaky shaft seal on a system with a history of leaks and problems, you should flush and put in the specified volume of oil.

In the case of replacing a compressor that has had internal failure the ENTIRE SYSTEM MUST BE THOROUGHLY FLUSHED! You should flush, flush, and flush again. If you don't ENSURE that all debris from the failed compressor is totally removed, then the act of replacing the first compressor will only be practice for doing it the second time.

This means breaking all connections and flushing thoroughly in both directions. Sometimes the serpentine condensors cannot be flushed enough and must be replaced.

Did I mention that you should thoroughly flush the entire system in the event of internal compressor failure?

Good luck,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2003, 08:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 287
Larry,

I notice they sell a $2,000 machine to flush the system.

Is it possible for the shade tree mechanic to throughly flush the system with just an air compressor and air gun?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2003, 10:56 AM
Zoonhollis's Avatar
Diesel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 551
A good air compressor and some flush (or brake cleaner) should do the trick.
__________________
Matt
------
1995 E300 Diesel (Die Blau Frau)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2003, 11:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
Many places like Carlisle Auto Air sell flush guns ( about $45) to be used with your air compressor ... they also sell recovery kits so you can reuse it.... the pro models run it through multiple times and filter as it goes through the system... you can do that shade tree and do a great job , just takes a little care and time...
I would split my flush into Gross and clean.... use the Gross first on all parts.. then use the clean.... and preferably new clean on each section being flushed the last time....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-02-2003, 02:01 PM
Maxwell's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 123
Is there any way to get some oil out without flushing the system if you've added too much?
__________________
83 240D four bagger stick diesel 276K
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-02-2003, 02:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
If you mean without evacuating the system ... No.
If you take out the refrigerant then you could ( if you actually know HOW MUCH over filled you are ) remove the reciever/dryer for instance, and put a new one in without adding any oil to it.. as you would normally do.. that would decrease the amount in the system by the amount in the removed Reciever/Dryer....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-02-2003, 03:42 PM
Zoonhollis's Avatar
Diesel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 551
This may be the exact problem with my A/C. Larry helped me recharge the system after I converted it back to R-12, but the (new) compressor did not make enough pressure to cool adequately. Is it possible that I have too much mineral oil in the system? Would the symptoms be similar?

As I was attaching the new compressor, some oil spilled out of the unit, but I was unsure of the amount. When I had it all back together, I added an amount of oil that I THOUGHT approximated the lost amount. I may have gotten WAY too much back in, thus exceeding the 8 oz. recommended. If so, would the result be as I described above, i.e., low high-side pressure?

Side note: The last thing I did to the system before charging was to remove the R-134 fittings and insert valve cores. When I did this on the high side (the fitting is at a low point), some oil came rushing out. Would this be normal?
__________________
Matt
------
1995 E300 Diesel (Die Blau Frau)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-02-2003, 03:56 PM
Zoonhollis's Avatar
Diesel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 551
Wow...that describes a completely different method for adding refrigerant oil. I simply poured it into the two holes on the back of the compressor before attaching it...and a goodly amount came flowing back out once I had it level and ready to bolt up. Mind you, I did turn the compressor a few times while on the bench to distribute the oil.
__________________
Matt
------
1995 E300 Diesel (Die Blau Frau)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-02-2003, 04:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
That is one way... but you can just put the right amount into the compressor and each of the items you have off after you have flushed.... and when replacing just one item... like the R/D then you measure the amount which was in the old one.. and put brand new, newly opened , correct type oil into the new one, which is kept closed until the very last second...

PS, one of the things engineers like about the Delco 4 is that it can be run in any position..... It can do this because it HAS NO Chamber for holding oil.. it is lubed only by the oil flowing with the refrigerant....
The Yorks can only be run in two positions...
I do not know about the other rotaries.. but suspect they must be horizontal...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page