Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2003, 10:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 55
Not a MB question, but I need a little advise.

You guys always give great responses to all the questions i have asked now I have one for the wife's car. 2000 Toyota 4runner SR5 (92000). The check engine light came on and I looking for a code reader and I wondered if you would know a good one for a reasonable cost. Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2003, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canton,Texas
Posts: 987
Autozone and places like that will scan a car for free for you.... I know that's not an answer to your question but it is cheap.
__________________
1985 300D Turbo ~225k
2000 F350 (Powerstroke) 4X4, SWB, CC, SRW, 6spd ~148k
1999 International 4900, DT466e (250hp/660 ft/lbs), Allison MD3060 ~73k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2003, 11:11 PM
ForcedInduction
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Chaeck all your fluid levels, look for wires not connected, and make sure your fuel tank cap is tight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2003, 11:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: S.F. Bayarea
Posts: 196
I got an OBD-II code reader (Equus) for $99 from Kragen. Read and reset worked fine on a 98 C280. For detailed disgnostics, you still need factory or professional reader $$$$$.
__________________
Shane83SD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2003, 06:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 55
Thanks guys. I already checked the gas cap but not all fluid levels, I will do that tomorrow. If that doesn't work I will go to AutoZone this weekend and see if they can scan it before I buy one. Thanks again and I hope you have GREAT HOLIDAY SEASON!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2003, 09:43 AM
LarryBible
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, I would also suggest going by Auto Zone and ask them to draw the code.

Five'll get you ten that it's an Oxygen Sensor slow to warm up. If that's the case, they will try to sell you an Oxygen Sensor. The front ones are tough to change. If the code is indeed a slow warm up O2 sensor, get a way to reset the code and reset it whenever it happens and be happy.

Good luck and Merry Christmas,
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2003, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canton,Texas
Posts: 987
I'm 100% with Larry on this (he's right almost every time anyway)...... O2 sensor.
__________________
1985 300D Turbo ~225k
2000 F350 (Powerstroke) 4X4, SWB, CC, SRW, 6spd ~148k
1999 International 4900, DT466e (250hp/660 ft/lbs), Allison MD3060 ~73k
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2003, 08:15 PM
whunter's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 17,353
Probably; but why

Hello tgh93
I agree that an O2 sensor code is likely.
The question is; Why did it set the code?
More data needed:
#1. Have the spark plugs ever been replaced?
#2. When was the throttle body last cleaned?
#3. When and what was the last service done on vehicle?
#4. Have you looked carefully for vacuum leaks?

Awaiting your response.
__________________
ASE Master Mechanic
asemastermechanic@juno.com

Prototype R&D/testing:
Thermal & Aerodynamic System Engineering (TASE) Senior vehicle instrumentation technician.
Noise Vibration and Harshness (NVH).
Dynamometer.
Heat exchanger durability.
HV-A/C Climate Control.
Prototype Vehicle build.
Prototype Fleet Durability
Prototype vehicle instrumentation.
Technical Quality Auditor.
Automotive Technical Writer

1973 300D
1973 309D - stolen
1978 280SE
1980 240D
1983 300D
1984 190D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-25-2003, 09:12 PM
mattdave
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
on my saturn

On my Saturn the darn thing comes on every 6 months. I disconnect the battery cable hold the brakes pedal down for 30 seconds reconnect battery its good for 6 more months. I have heard this works to reset computer on most cars. Why you hold break pedal down I have no clue but it doesn’t work unless you do.
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-25-2003, 11:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 55
mattdave I will give that a try tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page