Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2004, 04:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 51
temperature gauge relay

were is the temperature gauge relay on a 80 300D ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2004, 05:10 PM
lrg lrg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,163
No relay, just a sending unit located at the front of the engine.
__________________
LRG
1987 300D Turbo 175K
2006 Toyota Prius, efficent but no soul
1985 300 TDT(130K miles of trouble free motoring)now sold
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2004, 12:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 51
I replace both sender on the motor there are 2 senders on the side of the motor next to the glow plugs but the gauge won't read I also not sure if the fan in front is working not seen it kick on the gauge also been replace
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2004, 12:35 PM
notlostmaybe's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: norte de californie
Posts: 276
the two senders next to the glow plugs are for the glow plugs.
one goes to the glowplug relay, the other to the glowplug light.

the fan is used by the airconditioner unless it has been rewired.
only when the a/c gets hot.

don
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2004, 01:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 51
Thanks if the 2 sender are for glow plugs then were the one for the temp I don't see any other one the A/C is unhook it die some time ago I seen the fan run when it been real hot out after a hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2004, 09:39 PM
notlostmaybe's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: norte de californie
Posts: 276
temp senser: front left of engine directly behind the upper
radiator hose, single wire with black push-on cap.

don
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2004, 12:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 51
No the only sender on the motor are the one by the glow plugs that it they check out good I was reading that the glow plugs relay has a temp sender made in
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2004, 02:10 PM
dmorrison's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Colleyville, Texas
Posts: 2,694
The service manual for the 80 300D shows the temperature sensor for the aux fan is used by the AC system. The switch is located on the reciever dryer. The relay for the aux fan is the code 6. It should be located on the driver wheel well in the black box , not 100% sure which one it is. Here is the general location

http://www.************************/BitMapPage.aspx?bitmapid=130&bitmapname=Electric%20Control%20Relays

Both relays will be "icecubes" type relays. One is for the windows and the other is for the aux fan.

Your actual temperature sensor for the guage is the forwad one in the block. Near the glow plugs. Item #76

http://www.************************/BitMapPage.aspx?bitmapid=75&bitmapname=External%20Engine

This is wired directly to the instrument cluster.

Dave
__________________
1970 220D, owned 1980-1990
1980 240D, owned 1990-1992
1982 300TD, owned 1992-1993
1986 300SDL, owned 1993-2004
1999 E300, owned 1999-2003
1982 300TD, 213,880mi, owned since Nov 18, 1991- Aug 4, 2010 SOLD
1988 560SL, 100,000mi, owned since 1995
1965 Mustang Fastback Mileage Unknown(My sons)
1983 240D, 176,000mi (My daughers) owned since 2004
2007 Honda Accord EX-L I4 auto, the new daily driver
1985 300D 264,000mi Son's new daily driver.(sold)
2008 Hyundai Tiberon. Daughters new car

Last edited by dmorrison; 04-29-2004 at 02:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2004, 12:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 51
Thanks for the help noting I try work the sender seem to be good there power going to it I replace the instrument cluster
it stop working with the old instrument cluster it stop working about the time I clean the motor at the carwash I about ready to just buy a add on guage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page