Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion > Diesel Performance Tuning

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2010, 07:37 PM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
Mounting an sd manifold to a 603.

So ive recently began swapping the old US restriction to the more high flowing sd turbo manifol, however ive ran into a bit of a problem. The metal water hose coming off of the thermostat housing is hitting the bottum of the manifold. Anyone have an idea for a fix to this?

Attached Thumbnails
Mounting an sd manifold to a 603.-wapipe.jpg  
__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2010, 07:44 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Ghost of Diesels Past
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,217
sd, as in 617 engine manifold? if so it wont work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2010, 08:09 PM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
603 manifold.
__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2010, 02:55 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
Send the manifold to me, I'll mount it on my car, problem solved.

I don't have an answer, but I'm interested in your project as it is on my list.

603.971 manifold, right?
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2010, 10:41 PM
aaa aaa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,075
Interesting. Can't really tell how bad it is with that pic though. Bending that tube some more comes to mind.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2010, 02:36 AM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
603.971 manifold, right?[/QUOTE]

Thats the manifold.

Bending the pipe is what first came to mind. Actually i thought about cutting it, however the pipe bends around and has a mount that srews back into the housing. The pipe itself is in the housing loose but will not come out. Ive been unable to find a diagram or even the entire assembly off of a 603.971.
__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2010, 02:51 AM
Registered Hack
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,625
there are other t-stat housings where the bend in that pipe is perpendicular to the engine.

Imagine rotating yours 90 degrees towards the observer of that photo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2010, 05:01 PM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
Thats what im looking for. Do you know of any applications?
__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2010, 06:21 PM
aaa aaa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,075
It's not the housing, the pipe is removable. That setup is used on the 300SDL. Just unbolt the bracket from the pipe to the housing, then it's just tightly forced into a hole with a grey o-ring (might want to replace that). Yes, I have pulled it out (outside the car though). However, the SDL pipe assumes that the heater hose is on the firewall behind the engine, and if you try to use it, it will come awfully close to the firewall and be pretty hard to route back to where the 124 takes the heater hose.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2010, 09:17 PM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
Man! removing the pipe was a PITA. Ill be looking for the hose from an sdl, unless I can buy one new from anywhere but the dealer? Havent found one online yet. Now on to the next thing. As you can see in the photo, the turbo is not going to fit lol. Im not on expert on assembling turbos, however I believe I can inbolt the mid section and turn the front houseing. Ill also have to shorten the exhuast side, and I dont believe there is any sort of adapter for a downpipe?
Attached Thumbnails
Mounting an sd manifold to a 603.-cimg1685.jpg  
__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:41 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
Yes you can rotate or "clock" the turbo.

You probably already know that your old turbo has a pressure-actuated wastegate (good), and this one is vacuum-actuated (bad), need to swap.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-09-2010, 12:38 AM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
The turbo in the picture is the original 603 turbo.
__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:36 AM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
The itty-bitty turbine section is the give-away there LOL.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-09-2010, 12:31 PM
Mbenzo300td
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 38
Yeah im looking to upgrade as soon as possible to a vnt. Im just waiting for the electronic controllers to get all worked out.

__________________
87 w124 om603
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page