Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2008, 06:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 217
Two Post Lift wiring (conduit)

Looking for some general info when hooking up my two post lift.

The drop for the 220 motor is out in the middle of the room. I can easily run the wires in the ceiling joists the question is when I bring the wirs down to the motor.

I assume I need to use conduit (at least it seems like the right thing to do to me). Should I only use metal, plastic, flexible plastic? I'll be running 10-2 NM cable (lift comapny says use 12 gage wire and 30 amp breaker - 30 amp breaker needs 10ga wire). All it needs to do is run straight down from the ceiling so this is roughly a 7 foot span from the box (metal or plastic) that I put on the rafters to the power box on the pump. The wire can be continuous the whole run no need to break it at the box.

Any advise or comments?

Paul

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milford, DE
Posts: 1,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by moruzzi View Post
The wire can be continuous the whole run no need to break it at the box. Paul
Then why do you need a box in the rafters?

I ran mine from the sub-panel through the ceiling rafters, into a plastic conduit and down to my lift motor/hydraulic unit.

I didn't really give it much thought, didn't think I needed to. Do you have a specific concern?
__________________
98 Dodge-Cummins pickup (123k)
99 CLK320 (352K)
08 SL550 (113K)
13 GLK250 (86K)
14 E250 (61k)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 217
granted a box is probably overkill. I'm no electrician but I thought both ends of conduit are supposed to terminate in a box. I figured a box up in the rafters would support the conduit better than just clamping the tube to the rafter.

Probably shouldn't worry about it to much.
Thanks
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:43 PM
Emmerich's Avatar
M-100's in Dallas
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 678
This might be the time to hire the electrician. Can't be real expensive for a single drop and piece of mind goes a long way, especially if it is attached to your house.....
__________________
MB-less
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2008, 12:10 AM
mgburg's Avatar
"Illegal" 3rd Dist. Rep.
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Onalaska, WI.
Posts: 221
The general rule for boxes is: If there's more than 360° of bends in the run, then a pull-box is required at each 360° point (this is for conduit runs), then the 360° rule starts again 'til you get to the motor. The idea is to not apply too much pressure on the jacket/insulation as you pull the cable through the conduit...therefore the term "pullbox" -

Example:
...... __
......│_│———┐ 90°
.................. │
........ ┌———┘ 90°
........ │ 90°
........ │
........ │
........ │ 90° .... __
........ └————│_│

Now, if you're going to run Romex out of the breaker-panel, then at the location, a stub of conduit down to the motor...you might want to check with your local codes to see if that's permissible...I'm guessing it might not be, but I've seen some PRETTY lax codes in the sticks...

Good luck and don't burn down anything worth your life...



│ ┌ ┐ └ ┘
__________________
.

.
M. G. Burg
'10 - Dakota SXT - Daily Ride / ≈ 172.5K
.'76 - 450SLC - 107.024.12 / < .89.20 K
..'77 - 280E - 123.033.12 / > 128.20 K
...'67 - El Camino - 283ci / > 207.00 K
....'75 - Yamaha - 650XS / < 21.00 K
.....'87 - G20 Sportvan / > 206.00 K
......'85 - 4WINNS 160 I.O. / 140hp
.......'74 - Honda CT70 / Real 125

.
“I didn’t really say everything I said.”
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ~ Yogi Berra ~
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milford, DE
Posts: 1,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgburg View Post
Now, if you're going to run Romex out of the breaker-panel, then at the location, a stub of conduit down to the motor...you might want to check with your local codes to see if that's permissible...I'm guessing it might not be, but I've seen some PRETTY lax codes in the sticks...
I guess I must live in the sticks, around here its OK to run nomex without a conduit if the wire is located in a wall or it is run through an portion of the house that is not normally occupied. (like the space in an attic, above or on the rafters)
__________________
98 Dodge-Cummins pickup (123k)
99 CLK320 (352K)
08 SL550 (113K)
13 GLK250 (86K)
14 E250 (61k)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:42 AM
ImBroke's Avatar
Diesel way of Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, NY
Posts: 2,215
Plastic is easier to work with, but I prefer metal. I would do a box with the conduit coming down, it would look professional if nothing else. just my ho.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2008, 09:08 AM
mgburg's Avatar
"Illegal" 3rd Dist. Rep.
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Onalaska, WI.
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimFreeh View Post
I guess I must live in the sticks, around here its OK to run nomex without a conduit if the wire is located in a wall or it is run through an portion of the house that is not normally occupied. (like the space in an attic, above or on the rafters)
Sorry about the "sticks" comment...in Wisconsin, unless you live in the "big towns" - you're in the "sticks"...

For small amperage circuits, I could see running Romex-sans-conduit, but I, personally, get a little nervous running anything above 20 Amps without conduit...regardless if it's in the open or not.

But then, I'm probably more anal than the average bear!


__________________
.

.
M. G. Burg
'10 - Dakota SXT - Daily Ride / ≈ 172.5K
.'76 - 450SLC - 107.024.12 / < .89.20 K
..'77 - 280E - 123.033.12 / > 128.20 K
...'67 - El Camino - 283ci / > 207.00 K
....'75 - Yamaha - 650XS / < 21.00 K
.....'87 - G20 Sportvan / > 206.00 K
......'85 - 4WINNS 160 I.O. / 140hp
.......'74 - Honda CT70 / Real 125

.
“I didn’t really say everything I said.”
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ~ Yogi Berra ~
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page