Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2000, 07:40 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,007
why is it critical to check the "installed" height of the torque converter when the flywheel location that the torque converter bolts to is pretty much "fixed". Also, I have gone through the procedure of installing an engine where I had to rotating the torque converter to "feel" the pump
"latch" in. How bout when I reinstall an automatic transmission with the engine in place? What is the procedure to use to "feel" when the torque converter pump is "latched" in?
thanks for any thoughts/ideas/suggestions
Jim
'95 E320
'97 Honda CRV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2000, 09:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
On a Mercedes tranny, there are 3 times that the torque converter will engauge. You have to know when it has hit bottom. If not, you will break the teeth off of the front pump. (I have seen techs do this over and over).

You only need to worry about this if you take out the converter. I always take out the converter bolts and then push the converter back before removal of the tranny. Then just reinstall.

__________________
Benzmac:
Donnie Drummonds
ASE CERTIFIED MASTER AUTO TECHNICIAN
MERCEDES SPECIALIST 11 YRS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2008, 12:58 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NW usa
Posts: 34
great tip! but what about a new converter and tranny?

I'm going to install a rebuilt tranny and converter. How do I avoid the problem you note here?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2008, 08:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwogs View Post
I'm going to install a rebuilt tranny and converter. How do I avoid the problem you note here?
Just make sure that the converter is on far enough to meet the dimension in the transmission manual (this is for the 722.3). You may have to turn it back and forth to get the gears to mesh properly. This should be done with the transmission standing on end so that the torque converter can be lowered into position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque Converter, Repair or Replace Wing_Nut Tech Help 3 07-18-2005 04:09 PM
diesel torque converter vaughneagan Tech Help 1 01-09-2005 06:38 PM
Transmission / Torque converter compatibilty? Old300D Diesel Discussion 1 08-20-2004 12:12 PM
450 Catalytic converter question Princess Mercedes-Benz SL Discussion Forum 13 02-05-2003 01:03 PM
1996 E320 Torque Converter Slippage? Bruce Stock Tech Help 0 08-30-1999 12:14 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page