Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2005, 03:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Exclamation In iraq need help with sprinter van

i,m currently workin as a mechanic maintaing a fleet of vehicles used on post by the military. I have a mercedes sprinter van 311 cdi, year of production 2003, country of orgin Argentina, Vin # wdf9036723a908581. I'm not getting any power to the soloniod side of the starter when the key is turned to the start position, the van also has, a start error or error start, on the dash display i don't have and diagnostic equiptment or service manuals can anyone help with a starting point thanks for any assistance given Justin Reese Baghdad, Iraq

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 102
Hey Justin. Could be a neutral/clutch safety sw that is not closing or opening. Try holding the start position and moving the gear shifter,or clutch in and out. The sand could have got to it. Just a guess. be safe!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2005, 04:53 PM
cmac2012's Avatar
Renaissance Dude
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 16,571
I was thinking the same thing. I've had run ins with the cable that leads from the tranny to parts unknown that controls the nuetral/park switch. On one rig, I fashioned a kill switch from that line cause it had been stolen once. I flip the switch, they try to hot wire it and the rig is in drive and nothing else. So sorry, scumbag thief.
__________________
cmac

1986 300SDL, 351K
1984 300D, 133K
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:20 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Iraqi sprinter

i checked the neutral safety switch and clutch switch their both OK. The dash display says error start or start error like it set a diagnostic code is there any way to manually clear the codes, i already tried unhooking the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 36
Hi,
I have a 2004 ML350 and I know little about the Sprinters except from what I see on my delivery guys trucks. I do know the key appears the same as my ML. On the ML when we get this error the key needs to be reprogrammed. Check the search function. It is as simple as turning the key to different positions in the ignition and pressing buttons on the remote.
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2005, 11:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 500
Hi Justin,
I have WIS 5/2002 version. It has electrical schematics for Sprinter 903.672 Latin America model.
I don't know if 2003 model is the same as 2002. I could email you pdf files for starter, or anything you need. Just let me know, and your email address.
Regards, Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2005, 01:16 AM
DR.DIESEL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Puget Sound, Washington St.
Posts: 522
The "Start Error" message can mean there is a failure with the Drive Authorization System. Do you have access to a spare or different key?
Try that first, if you have a spare key. Try locking and unlocking the van several times as well.
You will most likely need a diagnostic scanner to retrieve DTC codes
and hopefully they will shed some light on where the fault lays.
Good luck.
Dr.D
__________________
Dr.Diesel -
Shop Foreman
Master Guild Mercedes-Benz Technician.

Think the dealer is expensive? Do you know how much it costs to train a dealer tech? Or buy the required MB special tools to have on hand?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2005, 02:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
sprinter van

my email address is justin.reese@haliburton.com any scematics would be greatly appreciated. the darn van doesn.t have an obd II serial port all i have is a tech II and a snap-on motus neither one will pull codes out. Is ther any way to manually clear the codes. Thanks Justin Reese Baghdad, Iraq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Smile Thank You

i tried the spare key and the damn thing starts and runns fine. This van is used to transport food to transitional barricks for units leaving and coming in. Myself and about 1500 soldiers greatly appreciate all your help thank you very much Justin Reese Baghdad, Iraq

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page