Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:31 PM
pimprig's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 52
E320 stopping

I just changed my E320s front rotors and brake pads and flushed the brake fluid. Is it common for the car with a new set of brake pads and rotors to take a little longer for it to come to a stop. I hope I didnít get air in the brake lines!!! The peddle has a approximately 2" play but when I put some pressure on it the car comes to a gradual stop??? Has any one experienced something like this? Thanks all and Merry X-mas.

__________________
98 E320 175,600m
99 ML320 175,500m
as of 12/2012
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:41 PM
Hatterasguy's Avatar
Zero
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Milford, CT
Posts: 19,307
Is the pedal soft? Sounds like you didn't bleed the brakes properly.
__________________
2020 GMC Sierra Denali
2007 Tiara 3200
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2005, 11:07 PM
pimprig's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 52
no it seems normal.
__________________
98 E320 175,600m
99 ML320 175,500m
as of 12/2012
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2005, 02:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 585
Most brake jobs I've worked on require break in period and mating of surfaces. Don't think MBs are any different. Haven't had to perform a brake job on my
99 E320 yet.
__________________
-- raymond~
47ļ 34'N 122ļ 18'W
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2005, 11:10 AM
Southern's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Carol Stream, Il, USA
Posts: 605
When I replaced my front brakes on my E320 I did not notice any difference in stopping distance.

Whenever I do a brake job I also bleed the brake lines but I bleed all four brake lines not just the two I am replacing.

Did you clean off the protective coating on your new rotors? I use brake cleaner to remove the protective coating.

I also "break-in" the new brakes by gradually coming to a stop from 20 MPH, 35 MPH, 40 MPH, and 45 MPH allowing time between for the rotors to cool.
__________________
Ray
1998 Mercedes E320, 200K Miles
2001 Acura 3.2TL, 178K Miles
1992 Chevy Astro, 205K Miles
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2005, 12:51 PM
pimprig's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 52
I bled all four brakes and I did clean the rotors and brakes with brake cleaner. The only thing that has me worried is that when I was bleeding the last one I lost track and I noticed that I only had a little bit of brake fluid in the reservoir. So I guess Iím worried that I got air in the lines. I havenít really driven the car yet, I just went down the street and back, but I would know later on for sure.
__________________
98 E320 175,600m
99 ML320 175,500m
as of 12/2012
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2005, 12:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 3,037
Best to use a pressure bleeder when bleeding the brake lines. It has a reservoir of brake fliid to ensure that air isn't introduced into the system.

__________________
Fred Hoelzle
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page