Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2006, 08:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cascade, MD
Posts: 21
722.6 Transmission Adaptation Values Reset

Had some tranny work done at an indie shop. His scanner/tools cannot reset the transmission adaptation values. Are other tools available to do this that I might find at another shop or is this something I need to take to the dealer? I have an OBDII scanner, might this be able to reset the values? Any other options?

Thanks.
'99 E300D (W210)
722.608 transmission
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Martha's Vineyard
Posts: 116
Don't think OBDII scanner will clear the codes. Afraid dealer is the only way or an indy shop with the right setup and software.
__________________
1999 C280 Sport, 1967 911s Porsche
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2006, 08:28 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
You can try to re-adapt the trans on your own!

Dis-connect the battery for a least an hour.

The drive the car very "SLOWLY" allowing the trans to shift each gear from 1st to 5th NEVER allowing the RPM to go above 1900 & then cost to a stop.!..Follow that procedure (1st to 5th) 4 times then allow the engine to idle for at least 10 minutes! That will adapt the transmission...

OF course you DO need a scanner to see if the adaptation is NEAR the maximun allowed & to erase codes in the TRANS computer...not ODB2 codes!
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.B.DOC
You can try to re-adapt the trans on your own!

Dis-connect the battery for a least an hour.

The drive the car very "SLOWLY" allowing the trans to shift each gear from 1st to 5th NEVER allowing the RPM to go above 1900 & then cost to a stop.!..Follow that procedure (1st to 5th) 4 times then allow the engine to idle for at least 10 minutes! That will adapt the transmission...

OF course you DO need a scanner to see if the adaptation is NEAR the maximun allowed & to erase codes in the TRANS computer...not ODB2 codes!
does a 190d auto also have to be programed
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes11
Don't think OBDII scanner will clear the codes. Afraid dealer is the only way or an indy shop with the right setup and software.
hello i am frm india can u help me with merk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Martha's Vineyard
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahesh905
hello i am frm india can u help me with merk
What type of help do you need?
__________________
1999 C280 Sport, 1967 911s Porsche
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:53 AM
Ali Al-Chalabi's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahesh905
does a 190d auto also have to be programed
Adaptation only applies to the 722.6 (5 speed auto) and 722.9 (7 speed auto) electronically controlled transmissions.
__________________
Ali Al-Chalabi

2001 CLK55
1999 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins Diesel
2002 Harley-Davidson Fatboy
Merlin Extralight w/ Campy Record
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2006, 08:52 PM
ace ace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 33
Removing battery power will not reset the adaptation values. To reset adaptation values you need a fairly sophisticated scantool, one that can communicate with the transmission control module. Example, snap-on MT2500 with the S20 personality key, Snap on Modis or Snap-on Solus. Off-course the MB tools such as the HHT (Hand Held Tester) will do this as well, my experience is with the Snap-on tools.
Once tha daptation values are re-set, you need to follow a re-adaptation procedure. One of the menus on the Snap-on tool will show you all the readings you need to perform the procedure in one display window. The readings are :1-Engine Torque 2-Actual Gear 3-Desired Gear.
Below table shows the appropriate engine torque values for a '97 E420. Other models have different recommended torque values.

Upshift Frequency Torque in NM
1-2 4x 13-40
2-3 4x 25-50
3-4 3x 22-70
4-5 3x 0-110
Downshift
5-4 3x
4-3 3x

Do not exceed 1800rpm
Oil temperature '60C to 105C
AC Off
Idle for 10 minutes in P for storing
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2006, 11:21 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
I too was going to suggest that removing the battery might not clear adaptations. I know a few months ago I installed a used controller into a car to evaluate a problem and without even driving the car the controller had adaptation values. I had the controller on a shelf for months prior.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2006, 08:17 PM
C32AMG's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: new york/orange county
Posts: 639
Adaptive memory should only be reset when you install a different transmission; used/ rebuilt or a transmission control
Module. Why would you want to erase valuable collected diagnostic data, and data used to optimize the shifts and performance
Of the INSTALLED transmission, only to go thru a drive cycle to teach the transmission control module the same information that was
Just erased.


If a minor service was done, valve body changed, conductor plate, harness oil ring, just clear all module
Codes and drive the car.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page