Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
UK supply? New W210 e320 Trans Control Module

Hi all,

I have been looking into replacing the TCM on the e320 to try and cure the lockup vibration. MB want over £500UKP for the part, and then it needs coding to the car.

Not being funny, but thats just crazy.

Does anyone know of an software upgrade process available for my existing TCM, or another alternative?

Kind regards,

Mike

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:26 PM
C32AMG's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: new york/orange county
Posts: 639
Did you try a transmission fluid flush. Did you check the for glycol contamination You dealer should know if there’s a soft ware update,
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2006, 07:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Hi again,

Fluid is fine and checked.

I'm now wondering if my problem stems from the driveshaft... as vibration is felt right upto higher speeds now, and this entire fault has developed over 12 months or so.

Under light load (and torque lockup), the car pulls erratically (but in a subtle way... you have to watch the revs)... with the rpm needle wobbling up and down. This as I said - goes upto whatever speed you like, usually in top gear.

I'm therefore not conviced the tranny control unit would need replacing. I think this is drive shaft related, and the torque converter lockup is putting the drive shaft components under conditions in which they vibrate. IE. direct drive... with no power slip.

How does this sound to rest of you? Am I onto something?

I am booked in to see MB next week and will report back, but I want to go armed with as much infor as possible.

No software updates are available for mine, already checked... and the tech recommended prop shaft... how they will tell I dont know.

I just want to get a decent diagnosis, without the massive cost of just "trying to change things it might be". I'm not under warranty so that exercise could run up huge bills. Not into that.

I love the car, but this problem really spoils the whole thing for me... would just like it fixed... and am happy to pay for it - as long as I know whats causing it.

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, as always.

Kind regards,

Mike Freeman

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page