Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2006, 11:14 PM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
Turn Signal Woes

My Turn signals have been acting up. When the signal is on it tends to (but not always) stays on, with no Click/strobing of the lights.

Sofar I've replaced the voltage regulater and all of my lights.



I'm stumped, am I missing a relay somewhere, or a bi-metallic strip?

__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2006, 01:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monomer
My Turn signals have been acting up. When the signal is on it tends to (but not always) stays on, with no Click/strobing of the lights.

Sofar I've replaced the voltage regulater and all of my lights.



I'm stumped, am I missing a relay somewhere, or a bi-metallic strip?
If the lamps just stay on, however do not flash, sounds like the turn signal relay is the culprit. Wee rectangular black box with four pins from memory. Does your hazard warning switch work? If all four lights flash normally it's not the relay. If they don't work, hunt down beastie and replace him.

If you've replaced bulbs and they operate, it's not an earth problem, if your indicator arm/switch operates normally and the lights activate, its not it. Can only be the 4 pronged beastie, what else? The only other thing is a one armed person is driving the vehicle and is unable to operate the indicator arm and steer at the same time.. Hope that helps.

280SL
Down Under
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2006, 10:33 AM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
Whats the location of the relay?


It's not in the fuse box with the rest of them.




Hazard switch has the same problem, it just turns all the light on (yes I've cleaned that also)
__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2006, 04:04 PM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
anyone?
__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 143
If you can give me the first 6 numbers of your VIN I may be able to find it for you.
Cheers, Geo.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:58 PM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
wbca33a7db036082


early model w126
__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2006, 07:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monomer
Whats the location of the relay?


It's not in the fuse box with the rest of them.




Hazard switch has the same problem, it just turns all the light on (yes I've cleaned that also)
This may be well off beam, however......Mine is a R107, so different, But....there is a stack of relays living in behind the glovebox! If you don't get an intelligent reply and your bored, go forth and remove the glovebox, they are not hard to remove and you may find it in there. If not, you'll definately find out what other relays are hidden out of sight for future reference! There is a limit to where they can place relays and it is somewhere in the dash, unlikely it's in the centre console, or behind the instrument cluster, the Germans are not that cruel. Due to their relative size they must be supported, not dangling on wires, so tend to be mounted on inner panels within the dash. Sorry I can't be of more help.

280SL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2006, 07:47 PM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanMarque
This may be well off beam, however......Mine is a R107, so different, But....there is a stack of relays living in behind the glovebox! If you don't get an intelligent reply and your bored, go forth and remove the glovebox, they are not hard to remove and you may find it in there. If not, you'll definately find out what other relays are hidden out of sight for future reference! There is a limit to where they can place relays and it is somewhere in the dash, unlikely it's in the centre console, or behind the instrument cluster, the Germans are not that cruel. Due to their relative size they must be supported, not dangling on wires, so tend to be mounted on inner panels within the dash. Sorry I can't be of more help.

280SL
Thanks for the insight, but the only thing behind the glovebox is valves for the ACC (yes, I already looked.)

Dosnt look to be hiding on the lower section of the dash either...
__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2006, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Check underneath the gear shift wood console. As I recall, that's where it is on the 123 model. If not there, check behind the dash to the left of the instrument cluster. It's located there on my SL.
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:09 PM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by sublettd
Check underneath the gear shift wood console. As I recall, that's where it is on the 123 model. If not there, check behind the dash to the left of the instrument cluster. It's located there on my SL.

Found what looks to be it, under the cluster.


part numbers dont match up, and it's only a 3-pin. None are listed like this in the catalog.
__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:59 PM
Monomer's Avatar
Colonel Blitz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 836
FIXED.


thanks everyone. A bit of Caig de-oxit spray and some di-electric grease and it works as good as new.

__________________
-1983 VW Rabbit LS Diesel (5speed, VNT/Giles build)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page