Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2006, 07:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
How to replace an M119 ETA??

I just ordered a rebuilt ETA. I just looked in the engine bay and I don't see how I can pull the current one without some major manifold removal, etc.

I'm not a big DIY guy (though I did replace the engine harness myself). Heck, I may even be looking at the wrong part (it sits right above the block between the manifolds and has a big round top, right?).

Does anyone have any m119 (4.2 v8) photos, diagrams, tips, etc?

New part due to arrive Wednesday and would rather not have to pay to get it done. It is supposedly a 20 minute job (or is that only on the straight-6)?

Thanks,

jk
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2006, 01:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Excuse the bump...

but, bump...Part comes in today and hoping for some timely help. It's either that or I find someone local to install a part purchased elsewhere. I'm in Austin, TX. Didn't want to pay $1300 for a new part through Ben's or others, but it's looking like I may be a bit challenged to install the ETA (electronic throttle actuator) on my own. I thought it was supposed to be easy!?! Am I missing something?
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2006, 04:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 304
Shop info....

I might also add, you had better plan on replacing #31 the connection hose or boot. If you're careful with hose #29 you might not have to renew. If the hoses are original, they will will crack or break after removal. Seems like hose # 31 is less than $15.00. This is one area where you don't want an air leak either. I had to use a long, flex socket attachment to reach the house clamps #32 - it's not an easy bolt to reach. Another side note, after removing the hose clamps on 31, you will have to "briskly" rock the hose back and forth to break the seal.
Attached Thumbnails
How to replace an M119 ETA??-eta.gif   How to replace an M119 ETA??-eta-instructions1.jpg   How to replace an M119 ETA??-eta-instructions2.gif  
__________________
Russell McMahon
Tulsa, OK

2001 CLK 320
1992 400se
1993 400e
2000 320ML

Last edited by rsmcmahon; 10-25-2006 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Thank You!

Thanks very much. It looks like I need to remove the center portion of the manifold first (and everything on top of it...) which is what I was hoping not to have to do...Guess it's not a 20 minute job on the 119...

Cheers,

jk
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:06 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
It'll come out of the hell hole it's in, but it's not easy. The official MB description works pretty good but I forget how it says to do it. Lift up on one side, rotate 90 degrees, etc etc. Only 4 screws hold it to the manifold, you're supposed to replace those, plus a new gasket. The gasket is tough to get it to stay there and not get damaged when trying to put it back in, it's harder to get it back in than take it out. Yes, get new breather hoses as it's especially tough to put back in the hole without flexible hoses, the originals will be rock hard, as you can imagine the heat down in there when the engines hot. Get new ones first so you can use a prybar and knock the old ones off before removing it, that makes it easier too. Then put the new one on prior to installing, can;'t "hardly" put the breather hose on with the TA installed in the hole. There is the "over ride" linkage to pop off then on again. The throttle stop has to be "learned" by the EA computer, sometimes it learns itself, other times a shopo computer is required, no idea why some do it themselves and other don't, may depend on the year or model car. In case you didn't see it, the mass airflow sensor and adapter need to come off first. NOT a 20 minute job! PITA is what it is.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Upon further review....

Gilly,

Yes, 'Hell Hole' is an apt description. Now that I have the part and am looking at everything it appears it is difficult, but doable. That said, what I really dont get is how I get the mass airlfow sensor and adapter off. I can't see any screws or bolts at all. From the top I can see two of the four bolts on eta and one screw for the clamp near the area where the eta and the mass airlflow sensor meet, but that's it (oh, well one other screw mounted horizontally just next to the black plastic on the mass airflow sensor.

hmph...
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:35 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Joe
Just held on with hose clamps I guess you'd call them. A bit of a pain but shouldn't hold you up too long. I ended up using a 1/4 drive handle with maybe a 6" extension, plus a "u joint" and short socket, I think the heads are 6mm for the clamps. Screwdriver won't work, go for the hex part. One clamp holds air sensor to rubber adapter, other holds adapter to TA, both clamps are on the rubber adapter.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2006, 10:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Thanks again Gilly (and RS McMahon)...
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2006, 05:45 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Make sure the linkage to the throttle (which is for "limp home" operation) is popped off early in the job, before you remove the 4 screws actually holding the TA down. Use a long thich screwdriver, put it between the ball socket and the lever and twist. PITA to get back on.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-27-2006, 09:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Thanks Gilly. I orgered the hoses, gasket and bolts. Should have everything today so i can work on it this eve and tomorrow am. Will advise when complete (or post in a panic!).
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-27-2006, 11:42 AM
JimF's Avatar
'94 S500: only 793 sold!
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,925
I did mine about 3+ years ago and the worst was the 'spring'! You can read about some of my toils in MENU#24.

You do not have to remove the intake manifold, the ETA can be removed as shown in the instructions! Suggest you don't remove the spring but keep it anchored into the manifold but just tape it out of the way. It's tough to get it back in. For the gasket, you could use a little gasket material to ensure that it doesn't move as you attach the four bolts.

Don't forget to clean the old gasket off after removing the old ETA.

It took me about 3+hours to do it and the worst part was the 'spring' b/c it fell off; about 1hr to get it back in!

Russ, tnx for the pictures; added them to MENU#24.
__________________
Regards . . . . JimF
-------------------
'94 S500 Cpe

Visit my Mercedes Web Page

Last edited by JimF; 10-27-2006 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-27-2006, 01:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Thanks for the tip Jim. I'll try some gorilla tape on it before I mess with it. That should keep it from popping-out. It looks so innocent in the diagram...
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-29-2006, 10:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX (OWA)
Posts: 154
Mass Airflow Removal

Any chance anyone has Mass Airflow removal instructions? I gathered you just removed the hose clip and twisted it off. I tried and it won't detach. I don't want to force it too hard and am wondering if I'm missing something. It twists, but won't pull-up...

Any hints?
__________________
Thanks,

Joey

'88 560SL Pearl Black/Java 152K
'94 E320 Anthracite/Grey 89K


Previously:
'94 E420 Black/Bamboo
'90 300E
'71 280SEL 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-29-2006, 11:46 AM
JimF's Avatar
'94 S500: only 793 sold!
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkazzoun
...Any chance you have MAF removal instructions. I gathered you just removed the hose clip and twisted it off. I tried and it won't detach. I don't want to force it too hard and am wondering if I'm missing something. It twists, but won't pull-up...
It seems as the rubber 'collar' (31) sticks to the MAF; need to break that seal. Make sure you've loosen 32. If I remember, there's a lip that holds the MAF???
__________________
Regards . . . . JimF
-------------------
'94 S500 Cpe

Visit my Mercedes Web Page
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-29-2006, 11:55 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Try loosening the clamp a bit more, you can also try squirting some water with a little dish soap in it to lube it up a bit. Just use an old empty spray bottle or buy one (an empty one for your own mixes) at a lawn and garden place
Gilly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page