Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2007, 11:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Piedmont Triad, NC
Posts: 8
93 300e Erratic Idle

I have a 93 300e 3.2 HFM here with the idle fluctuating like it has an air leak. I can not find one. I have retrieved the following faults:
012 -Engine idle speed contact, air mass too large
013 -Idle contact switch, bad contact

I had just replaced the wiring harness, these faults came up with another air mass fault, I checked the afm readings at an idle an the flow rate kept dropping off to zero. I replaced the air meter, now the air flow shows steady, but the idle still flucuates, accompanied by a raunchy exhaust odor.
Is the "idle switch" part of the throttle unit in this application? The manuals I'm using (Mitchell) does not go into much detail on where to go next. I would much rather fix this with some friendly advise from those who have delt with this before than to chase my tail for days.
Thanks, Dan

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2007, 11:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,726
Your getting the fault codes from where - the built in LED? And the descriptions are coming from Mitchell? Have you built the code reader for the other pins? I'm all questions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Piedmont Triad, NC
Posts: 8
I am using a Lauch x-431 to read the fault, the descriptions are from the same. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2007, 01:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 141
Uneven idle

Go into EA/ISC/CC systems then go to data stream and look at throttle angle. If throttle angle is fluctuating with idle surge you'll need to replace or rebuild the throttle assy.
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2007, 02:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Piedmont Triad, NC
Posts: 8
Thanks Mike,

I just found out the air mass sensor I bought is bad. At idle it showed
500kg/h , I removed the sensor from the housing and covered it with my hand, the flow rate dropped to 25kg/h (it should have read 0) and the idle smoothed out. I should have another sensor tomorrow.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page