Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2007, 05:47 PM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
Cruise Question

This regards an 87 300D :

can someone advise me if the factory radio was removed and the little green speed wire is left disconnected, would this affect cruise ?

Ive got a green speed wire hanging behind cluster with a single female pin on it. I think at one time it went to radio but that radio is long gone.

Ive checked every pin on the cruise amp and manually jumped the actuator. It all seems normal, just no cruise. Is there a fuse somewhere? Although I get +12v at cruise amp pin so its gettin pwr. Just isnt doing anything...ofcourse the cruise amp was just replaced with a rebuilt unit. Still no luck.

I can take a pic of the wire if someone thinks they will know what it is.

This is an 87 300D turbo. Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2007, 03:51 AM
wscheffer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 108
I believe that the wire you are referring to connects to the back of your speedometer. Remove your instrument cluster and plug it back in. Then try your cruise it should work.

Hope This Helps!
__________________
William
________________________________________
1987 420 SEL - Like a fine wine only better with age
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:41 AM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
its a single green w/ yellow stripe with a female connector on end of it.

The speed sender is plugged in to back of speedo, but you think this wire by itself also connects into back of cluster somewhere? I didnt see anywhere for it to connect to back there.

How many wires exactly should connect into the back of cluster for cruise control? Was there ever a green w/yellow stripe wire with female connector going to the Becker radio? Its pretty long, looks like it could of connected to radio.

Thanks for trying to help!! Much appreciated.
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !

Last edited by a2t; 06-23-2007 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2007, 01:29 AM
wscheffer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 108
The only single wires that connect to the cluster are the single green one we spoke about and a red and white one that goes to the tachometer. If both of these are plugged in then the cluster is covered. From the cluster on the 15 pin connector I believe that there is a green/brown that goes from the speed input to the cruise.

But in the wiring diagram the only thing that is close is a black and green wire that is a speaker connection.

But this would have nothing to do with your cruise.

As far as the Becker system I bought my 420 after someone already hacked the old system out and did a half a#% job of putting another mfg's system in. After hours of studying the wiring diagrams and carefully playing with 20 year old wire I finally got everything working again, even the electric antenna!

Sorry that I cannot be of much more help!

But what is the matter with the cruise?
__________________
William
________________________________________
1987 420 SEL - Like a fine wine only better with age
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2007, 09:56 AM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
The cruise isnt functioning. Actuator works, Amp new, brake light bulbs work.

I will pull cluster and take a pic of it. Thank you for your help, I really hope its just not plugged in to cluster.

I know it goes directly into a small square thing behind the cluster, and another wire comes out of that square and heads down to cruise amp.
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !

Last edited by a2t; 06-23-2007 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
Some models ( my 2000 had this, but my 2007 does not ) have a speed-sensitive radio volume control.
I.e., as you reach certain speeds, the volume of the radio increases.
Not having this wire connected should have nothing to do with your cruise control.
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:01 PM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
The wire in question is actually green w/yellow stripe as shown in these pics





It plugs into this rectangular box behind the cluster shown here







The back of cluster looks like this, I didnít see anywhere for this to plug in.







I can pull the whole cluster out and look more closely, but Ive done that 1 time already and didnít see a male plug for it to go into.

Plus, the wire is so long, I doubt it connects into the cluster. Seems MB used only the absolute shortest wire lengths for everything else going into cluster, why would they make this one so long?

My 1st guess is that it went into radio or CCU or something else that needed a speed signal.

Any help anyone can offer regarding what this wire is, or what that black box it goes into is, or any help regarding is cruise will operate with it unplugged is much appreciated!!!!

Paul
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2007, 07:42 PM
wscheffer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 108
Ok the green/yellow wire comes from the Electronic Control Modual (EZL) to the Diagnostic Socket Terminal Block ("rectangular box behind the cluster") the to the Tachometer in the Instrument Cluster.

I'll have to think about your cruise problem!

Hope This Helps!
__________________
William
________________________________________
1987 420 SEL - Like a fine wine only better with age
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:18 PM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
ok so you think it should somehow plug into tach ? I will try and pull entire cluster and get pic of back of it. Didnt see anywhere for it to plug in though... thankyou for thinking about this. Its been 2yrs and still no cruise!
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2007, 08:13 AM
wscheffer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 108
Thatís what the schematic is showing.
__________________
William
________________________________________
1987 420 SEL - Like a fine wine only better with age
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:19 PM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
I think I found out what the rectangular box is - if you look on pg 137/1 of schematics it shows item X53/5 defined as Mulitpoint connector, Hall effect sensor and theres a picture on pg 240 fig 4. It shows this exact wire coming off front of the Multipoint Connector, Hall Effect Sensor. It looks like the wire is heading left somewhere.

The schematic on pg 137/1 shows X53/5 as having 4 green/yellow wires associated with it. One an input from the speed sensor on back of cluster. One going out to cruise amp speed input. One out to the ACC, and final one going to LEtter H - Elect. Engine Control P116/2 or 116/4.

My schematics dont have a 116/4 but do have 116/2. Cant find any green/yellow wire on 116/2. pics attached.

Can someone with this type of car pleeeeeez look behind cluster and trace this green/yellow wire and tell me where its supposed to be going ?





__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !

Last edited by a2t; 06-24-2007 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-27-2007, 08:08 PM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
I really think that wire in question went to radio, which puts me back at square 1

I tried to plug it into the tach where the other speedwire comes off it. Didnt even fit.
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-08-2007, 01:19 AM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
Some closure on this :

The wire in question DID go to speed sender on back of speedo. The existing wire there was coming from the ACC, some bonehead mixed up the wiring.

I plugged the long wire back into speedo and rerouted the ACC wire to the block behind cluster, verified cruise amp was plugged into the block...

And Guess What?? ....

CRUISE WORKS!!!!!

Thanks for everyones help. Its been about 2 yrs troubleshooting this. I would have never figured it out without this forum.
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page