Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2007, 03:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 233
Question Newbie in need of help Tach cluster issue

I bought an american cluster to replace the EURO cluster in my not yet on the road or running for that matter 280CE.


eBay Motors: 1978 Mercedes 280CE (item 170145502934 end time Sep-06-07 19:22:27 PDT)

here is the cluster I plan to install inplace of the EURO one with the clock.

eBay Motors: Mercedes Benz W123 240D 300D Instrument Cluster & Tach (item 110173785398 end time Oct-01-07 11:11:42 PDT)


There is a connector for tach on back has two wires. One is solid black and plugs in on top. Nearby stamped on metal plate is TD (actually closer to console light bulb). The other wire is Black with red stripe and plugs in on bottom relative to other wire. Near it on metal plate is stamped +.


Where is a good hookup for the Positive wire somewhere under the dash so I don't have to run under the hood.

What size amp fuse would be good for the tach on the power line?

Also where is best to hookup vacumn line on economy guage? Can I pickup any vacumn like the one to distributor anyone easy to access on intake manifold?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2007, 02:44 AM
crhenkel's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Posts: 616
If your car is anything like the typical 190E or 300E, you can pick up a vacuum connection with an additional "y" connector at the yellow colored vac check valve that is under the hood very near the fuse box on the drivers side rear of engine compartment. Y after the check valve and use the new branch to route in through the rubber firewall grommet to the instrument cluster. Good luck
__________________
Christopher Henkel
1990 190E 2.6 - Arctic white SOLD
1986 190E-16v - Blauswartze
1993 300CE - SOLD
2003 W208 CLK 320 Cabriolet - Magma Red
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2007, 02:55 AM
280EZRider's Avatar
No Dumping
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,387
I have a 280E and just installed a tach as well. The + side goes to either fuse bus #12 or 14. Or to an empty buse that is hot in "start/run." The TD side goes to the negative side of the coil. 8 amps and 18 gauge wire.

I think you are right about the vac line. Any connection to the intake manifold should work, but I wouldn't connect to the line going to the locking system.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2007, 03:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 233
srjulianchivis,

What year is your 280E? does it have transitorized ignition or points?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:03 PM
280EZRider's Avatar
No Dumping
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 1,387
cheapold280ce,
My 280E is a '77 w/electronic ignition - no points
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 233
Thank everyone for your help. Should work fine on mine a 78 with no points. I hooked it up to my chevy truck here at work I am not close to my 280CE but truck has a inline 6 with HEI ignition. It work great on truck read find.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page