Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent, WA.
Posts: 33
ingnition question

Hello Board,
Intermittent engine turnover. I can put in the key and a start. But every couple of times the engine won't turn over. All lights and radio work but no start. It seems that I can hear a spark or click when I turn the key but no start. I can turn the key over a few times and the car will start. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,929
Sounds pretty basic.

Battery
Battery clamps
Ground connection from battery
Solenoid
__________________
1998 C230 330,000 miles (currently dead of second failed EIS, yours will fail too, turning you into the dealer's personal human cash machine)
1988 F150 144,000 miles (leaks all the colors of the rainbow)
Previous stars: 1981 Brava 210,000 miles, 1978 128 150,000 miles, 1977 B200 Van 175,000 miles, 1972 Vega (great, if rusty, car), 1972 Celica, 1986.5 Supra
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent, WA.
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpolli View Post
Sounds pretty basic.

Battery
Battery clamps
Ground connection from battery
Solenoid
Would that be the start solenoid? My cables were loose but I tighten them a couple of days ago. And ground connection from the battery to where?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2008, 05:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 2,984
Try cleaning the battery terminals and the connectors with wire brush tool so they make good contact. Tighten moderately, not too tight.
__________________
Fred Hoelzle
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:08 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Do you have a volt meter?
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2008, 03:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent, WA.
Posts: 33
volt meter

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevebfl View Post
Do you have a volt meter?
Steve thanks for the reply. I currently donot have a volt meter but I can get one. what would I check with it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page