Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
help to install the belt of my 1991 300e mercedez

hello, i need help, I want to replace a new belt and I can't install. i loose the alternator and the power steering pump and still the belt seems to be small. I don't know it is the belt wrong size or I need to do something else. please help. thank you

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
belt

the new belt brand is mileage maker and the code is 952k6 mk
don't know if is the right one but is the one i got from the auto parts. it also has the details DAYCO 5060950, 5060955.
THANKX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:48 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
You need to loosen the tentioner.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
i did already
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2008, 09:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 10
Did you match the new belt up to your old one? Thats a sure fire way to know wether you are close or if it is totally the wrong belt.

300E's came with a couple different engines in them.
__________________
(1) '89 190E 2.6 Schwartze
(2) '89 190E 2.6 Schwartze
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:32 PM
speeddemon2008's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
I had a hard time putting my belt back on my car(using the same belt as i pulled off), even after i loosened everything. the belt just seemed like it didnt fit, but i knew it did since i pulled it off. any ways just keep pulling and yanking on it to get it on. btw I have a 89 300se.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
today i went to the autoparts store and exchange the belt for a diffeent model with an ac unit kind of belt which is one inch bigger than the one they give me before. will change the alternator also. so we'll se what is the result. got to get an alternator first so I can check for the belt size.
thankx for the help to all of you there.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 3,035
Compare the length of the new belt with the old one, or call the Parts Department at your local MB dealer and ask what length belt you need for your car. Provide them with the VIN so they can confirm the proper length.
__________________
Fred Hoelzle
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Someone else with tensioner woes?!?

I recently changed the belt on my '91 300TE-24, the new belt which was the same size as the old was a bit of a struggle to get on, I put it around as many pulleys as I could and (with the tensioner released - Thanks guys) pulled to get the belt over the last pulleys. Make sure the clamp bolt is well and truly loose, and that the tensioner is loosened off. Turn the tensioner anti-clockwise to loosen!!!

I have put lots of oil onto the thread of the tensioner as it is a trap for dirt and rust.

Daz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: AL
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1991 300e View Post
hello, i need help, I want to replace a new belt and I can't install. i loose the alternator and the power steering pump and still the belt seems to be small. I don't know it is the belt wrong size or I need to do something else. please help. thank you
You said later that you loosened the tensioner, but in this first post you did not mention the tensioner.

It is not necessary to loosen the alternator and PS pump; only the tensioner.

Are you sure you loosened the tensioner?
__________________
2012 E350
2006 Callaway SC560
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
I did loose the tensioner, just waiting to get an alternator.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-31-2008, 11:42 PM
Spelunker's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
I loosen not only the tensioner, but one of the bolts on the damper.. this gives the tensioner pulley a little extra swing.

The easiest way to install a new belt for me is to route the belt through all the ribbed pulleys first and then pull the last slack over the tensioner pulley.

__________________
1989 300SE: 200,000+ and going strong

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page