Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:32 AM
mbzman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 600
Power seat problem

When I go to start my '89 300CE the power seat has the occasional tendency to adjust itself (backrest, headrest). I'm pretty sure I have already coordinated my seating to the memory button 1. So my question then, is why is the driver's adjusting itself each time I turn the car on?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,934
Have you tried doing a search? I think there is tons of info on that car.
__________________
1998 C230 330,000 miles (currently dead of second failed EIS, yours will fail too, turning you into the dealer's personal human cash machine)
1988 F150 144,000 miles (leaks all the colors of the rainbow)
Previous stars: 1981 Brava 210,000 miles, 1978 128 150,000 miles, 1977 B200 Van 175,000 miles, 1972 Vega (great, if rusty, car), 1972 Celica, 1986.5 Supra
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2008, 06:45 PM
mbzman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 600
Yes, I did do a search. I could not find anything specific to my problem. Most of the problems were with seat switches, motors or wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,934
Yeah that seems like an unusual problem. I searched and only found one other complaint like that and there were no replies to it. There are lots of problems with the switches it seems. Just guessing, it seems like the memory function is kicking on, like it is adjusting for another driver. Does that sound right? Are there 3 buttons for 3 drivers or how does that work?
__________________
1998 C230 330,000 miles (currently dead of second failed EIS, yours will fail too, turning you into the dealer's personal human cash machine)
1988 F150 144,000 miles (leaks all the colors of the rainbow)
Previous stars: 1981 Brava 210,000 miles, 1978 128 150,000 miles, 1977 B200 Van 175,000 miles, 1972 Vega (great, if rusty, car), 1972 Celica, 1986.5 Supra
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:44 AM
mbzman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 600
I've been playing with the memory for the last couple of weeks and the problem still persists. I tried creating a new memory by holding the green button and then pressing the '1' button, but it doesn't seem to remember the new stored position. Is there a way to reset the memories so that it doesn't adjust when I turn the ignition on? It's somewhat strange because sometimes the seats, headrest and steering wheel don't move at all and at other times they go to a position that is clearly not set.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:27 PM
mbzman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 600
I've gotten the memory to work except now when I open the driver or passenger side doors the seat adjusts to a position that is not in memory. What gives?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:16 PM
pifcat2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Willow Glen
Posts: 299
try removing he switch and seeing if you get the "self" adjustments. Something may be stuck in the switch or a loose connection in the wiring.
__________________
'88 300TE, 175k, black RENNTech 3.6L Recaro C's AMG 1
'92 500E, 110k, Spruce green, stock
'94 E320 Cabriolet, 130k, E500 wheels, Emerald green
'94 E320 Cabriolet, 110k, black, stock, for sale
'88 300TE, 229k, dark grey, for sale
'90 300CE, 212k, white, new paint, for sale
'91 300E, 209k, white, rebuilt head
'74 914-6, grey, 2.7L 325hp twin turbo Audi conversion
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2009, 09:53 PM
mbzman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 600
I tried removing the switch but the trim that holds it in place is stuck onto the door panel. I don't want to break the trim piece that surrounds the switch. Is there an easy way to remove the trim?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:04 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
There is a plastic circlip around the large hollow pin on the switch.

__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page