Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2009, 01:56 PM
agood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 198
KickDown Question

Is there both a kickdown switch and cable in my 90 SEL? Do they both do the same thing?

__________________
1995 E300 Diesel
1994 E320
1999 C230K
1994 S500 W140
1990 300 SEL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2009, 02:33 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,438
There is just a switch, the cable controls the shift points by looking at the throttle position.
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 118k - mine - (OC-123,800)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 37k - wifes (OC-41k)
'09 Sprinter 3500 Winnebago View - 62k (OC - 67k)
'13 ML350 Bluetec - 95k - dad's (OC-98k)
'01 SL500 - 103k(km) - dad's (OC-110,000km)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 148k - Brothers (OC-155k)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2009, 02:39 PM
agood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 198
Should the kickdown still work if the cable is missing?
__________________
1995 E300 Diesel
1994 E320
1999 C230K
1994 S500 W140
1990 300 SEL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:13 PM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,671
"Should the kickdown still work if the cable is missing?"
The kickdown switch closes at full-throttle only. The transmission will shift into top gear very early if there is no cable, and it won't know when to downshift except for the signal from the kickdown switch.
__________________
Prost!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:39 PM
agood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 198
Ok, My situation is, the cable is missing, and the car shifts quickly, with no kickdown. The only way I can get it to upshift when climbing a hill is to manually move the shift lever to a lower gear.
Is this normal operation for a car with no Bowden Cable?
__________________
1995 E300 Diesel
1994 E320
1999 C230K
1994 S500 W140
1990 300 SEL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:44 PM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by agood View Post
The only way I can get it to upshift when climbing a hill is to manually move the shift lever to a lower gear.
Is this normal operation for a car with no Bowden Cable?
Indeed it is, Laddie, indeed it is! Replace the cable and adjust it to just the point of no slack and you will be loving your car again.
__________________
Prost!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2009, 09:24 PM
agood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 198
OK, I replaced the cable....and it will not up shift when I press had on the pedal. But now when I accelerate from a stop....it feels like it is starting off in 2nd gear, if I push hard it will roll about 20 feet and then down shift to 1st gear....at least that is what it feel like.
Obviously I need to adjust this cable...but right now I have it adjusted all the way loose and there is still no slack...that I can tell.
__________________
1995 E300 Diesel
1994 E320
1999 C230K
1994 S500 W140
1990 300 SEL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2009, 10:16 PM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,671
If it's correctly attached and adjustsed, then the next thing would be to test the control pressure unit itself. It is unusual that the cable wasn't there to begin with, so maybe there was a problem there? I'm assuming your vacuum hose was connected or you should have been complaining about hammer-hard shifting.
Note that increasing tension on the cable will delay upshifts and make downshifts come sooner.
Attached Thumbnails
KickDown Question-steuerdruckzug.jpg  
__________________
Prost!

Last edited by Hirnbeiss; 05-19-2009 at 10:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2009, 10:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
It is supposed to start off in 2nd gear. It only downshifts to first/low with WOT from a stop.
__________________
A Dalton
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2009, 11:55 PM
agood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 198
The cable was there...it was broken inside.

So a start off from 2nd gear is normal? OK, then I appears to be working as designed.

I have seen the pictures on the adjustment before, but neither one of them look like my setup. So I will just adjust by feel.
__________________
1995 E300 Diesel
1994 E320
1999 C230K
1994 S500 W140
1990 300 SEL
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:30 AM
Hit Man X's Avatar
I LOVE BRUNETTES
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FUNKYTOWN
Posts: 9,087
Thumbs up

I find it best to shift at part throttle around 2700-3300rpm so it's "on the cam" if you will.

Verify linkage at firewall is correct, often times it gets out of adjustment over the course of 20 years.
__________________
I'm not a doctor, but I'll have a look.

'85 300SD 245k
'87 300SDL 251k
'90 300SEL 326k

Six others from BMW, GM, and Ford.

Liberty will not descend to a people; a people must raise themselves to liberty.
[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2009, 06:46 AM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by agood View Post
I have seen the pictures on the adjustment before, but neither one of them look like my setup. So I will just adjust by feel.
The pictures I posted are for the 124. The 140 could be somewhat different, but the principle is the same. The picture on the bottom is for linkages with pointers - you line them up with each other.
__________________
Prost!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-20-2009, 11:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
>

Correct ..that chassis did not have 1st gear start by design.
__________________
A Dalton
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:11 PM
agood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 198
Thanks! Now all i need is a vaccum diagram.....

__________________
1995 E300 Diesel
1994 E320
1999 C230K
1994 S500 W140
1990 300 SEL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2024 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page