Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2002, 05:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coeurd'Alene Idaho
Posts: 48
spark plug torqe spec

Good day all. Could someone help with the proper tourqe spec and gap for the bosch suppers in my 1989 300E.




_________________________
Brian
1989 300E (155K)
1991 MR2 (wife)
1979 CJ5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2002, 06:36 PM
Mateo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sure

I recently replaced mine, so I'll tell you what I did. I belive the manual states 8-15P, so I tightened it up to 15. That seemed to be the place where it wanted to stop.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2002, 12:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coeurd'Alene Idaho
Posts: 48
Mateo, thank you for your response. Can you tell me are the Bosch plugs pre gapped? and if so just for reference what is the proper gap for my 89 300E?

Sincerely Brian




________________________
1989 300E (155K)
1991 MR2 (wife)
1979 CJ5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2002, 02:49 AM
MikeTangas's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 4,430
Seems like the Bosch plugs do come pre-gapped, but it is a good idea to check them any way (maybe the box got dropped???), you'll be looking for something like .032" .

Hope this helps.
__________________
Mike Tangas
'73 280SEL 4.5 (9/72)- RIP
Only 8,173 units built from 5/71 thru 11/72

'02 CLK320 Cabriolet - wifey's mid-life crisis

2012 VW Jetta Sportwagon TDI...at least its a diesel

Non illegitemae carborundum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:56 AM
Mateo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
correct

the bosch suppers I bought did not seem to come pre gapped. .032" is the correct gapping. When I didn't know any better and bought Bosch Platnums (wrong move), they said they came pre-gapped, but when I became suspicious of them and pulled them, the gapping was WAY off! This could have been caused by other factors, but it's allways good to check. It seems I had to gap my suppers from .030 to .032" - Hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2002, 02:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coeurd'Alene Idaho
Posts: 48
Thanks guys. I really appreciate all your help.






________________
Brian
1989 300E (155K)
1991 MR2 (wife)
1979 CJ5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300E spark plug wires fish4stripers Tech Help 8 06-25-2004 09:09 AM
resistance for silicone spark plug wires? RKreutzer Tech Help 5 04-13-2003 05:58 PM
Spark plug help BENZ-LGB Tech Help 2 09-13-2002 09:06 AM
M104 spark plug torque spec? dfndr Tech Help 0 03-18-2001 11:41 AM
Suggestion for removing Stubborn Spark Plug Connectors Mike Murrell Tech Help 1 09-17-2000 09:27 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page