Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2011, 09:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: n.e. georgia
Posts: 73
1998 e320 transmission fluid change.

I am going to replace the filter and fluid this weekend and I need to turn the torque converter to get to the drain plug (I"m guessing it has one) The crankshaft pulley has a hex nut and I hope someone can tell me what size it is so the parts store can get me one to turn the engine over. Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2011, 10:25 PM
RichardM98's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 651
Drain plug in TC was eliminated in April 99.

Sorry I don't know the crankshaft nut size off hand but...

If you have the car on jack stands, turning the TC is easy. I just inserted a screwdriver (old one) into the 'window' in the TC frame and turned the TC drum a little at a time until drain plug showed up.

FYI - For some reason the seals under the drain plugs are different part numbers although the drain plugs are same size.

If you haven't done a 722.6 before, it's a good idea to calibrate an old 1 gal milk bottle in quarts. Then measure the amount you drain out (between 7-8 qts) and put the same amount back in. That way you can drive the car to warm up the transmission before setting the final level.
__________________
Good luck.






1998 E320 Wagon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2011, 10:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
the crank bolt is 27mm or what i used is a 6pt 1- 1/16. that did the trick for my 99 e320 4matic.

there is also a 5mm allan for the torque converter bolt when you line it up. get something that is a socket with the allan key on it. tap it in good so it catches right, they tend to rust up and get stripped really quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2011, 10:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: n.e. georgia
Posts: 73
Does the car need to be in neutral if it is on jack stands to rotate the T/C with a screw driver
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2011, 11:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldfatman7 View Post
Does the car need to be in neutral if it is on jack stands to rotate the T/C with a screw driver
No.

__________________

90 300TE 4-M
Turbo 103, T3/T04E 50 trim
T04B cover .60 AR
Stage 3 turbine .63 AR
A2W I/C, 40 LB/HR
MS2E, 60-2 Direct Coil Control
3" Exh, AEM W/B O2
Underdrive Alt. and P/S Pulleys,
Vented Rear Discs, .034 Booster.
3.07 diffs 1st Gear Start

90 300CE
104.980
Milled & ported head, 10.3:1 compression
197 intake cam w/20 advancer
Tuned CIS ECU
4 ignition advance
PCS TCM2000, built 722.6
600W networked suction fan
Sportline sway bars
V8 rear subframe, Quaife ATB 3.06 diff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page