Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2002, 08:34 PM
RogerR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
'93 tach/cruise don't work

I recently bought a 1993 300D (had an '83 & '84 before), and the tach and cruise control both don't work. I have rebuilt the fuse box and replaced the over/volt relay with no results. I have read the cigarette butt posts, but don't see the cylinder mentioned in those posts, and suspect the system has changed from the mid '80 models. The tach and cruise control both get their power through the same fuse, and I am wondering if there is a common connector that often fails? Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2002, 09:28 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 11,775
Try swapping the fuse for a new one. They are cheap and sometimes do need replacing after 9 + years.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2002, 10:14 PM
RogerR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your suggestion. I have already replaced the fuse in the fusebox in the engine compartment on the driver's side, with no change, and all the other components that feed through that fuse are working fine, except for the tach and cruise control. Is there another fuse I am missing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2002, 05:55 AM
Swedish Diesler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 106
I have an almost 100% sure solution for this problem.

This is beacause I had the exact same problem a while ago.

The cause is a lost ground connection on the instrument cluster and I fixed it by simply connecting a new ground wire directly to the back of the cluster.

I'll go out and check the exact position I used because I can't remeber exactly where I put it.
__________________
/Per

MB E300TDT -98
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2002, 09:42 AM
RogerR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Please do let me know where you put the ground wire. That would be great if that fixes the problem, and I will sure let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2002, 12:20 PM
RogerR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I ran an additional ground wire from the back of the tach metal housing to the frame, but it did not solve the problem. The clock in the tach assembly works fine, so I have power and ground (at least for the clock). Is there any way to tell if the tach is receiving a signal, and do the tach and cruise control in any way work together or depend on each other?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page