Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2002, 04:27 PM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
Can a 240D accept a 5cylTurbo 300D motor relatively easily?

The worst thing I'm thinking is the transmission interface since 300D motors are automatic. I doubt the flywheel would replace the torque converter easily. Second, I dont think the manual transmisson from my 240D would fit on the 300D motor. Next I am thinking vacuum lines and wiring harness.
Next I am thinking motor mounts, physical positioning.
Last is the AC interface.

Has anyone done this. I would just like to get some pep into my 240D...


http://mywebpages.comcast.net/rtc9/Benz.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2002, 05:19 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 11,772
The 300D engine will go into the manual 240D. Look for post by Claude Jones on here - he has done it. The tranny has to move back about 3 or so inches and the mounting holes are already in there.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2002, 05:45 PM
LarryBible
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, you will need to use the adapter plate from the rear of the same motor from which the manual transmission comes. Also, you will have to change the shifter rods due to different trans position and also come up with the correct length driveshaft. There are many driveshaft shops that can fabricate it if need be.

You will need to think through the pilot bearing issue, the end of an automatic transmissioned crankshaft is different. This may require a trip to the general machine shop. Don't expect long transmission life without proper pilot bearing support of the transmission input shaft.

The hoses, wiring harness etc. should not be too challenging for the brain power of a computer guy.

This is a swap that has been in the back of my mind for years, I'll guess it'll be something I do after I win the lottery, have that air conditioned shop and adequate time on my hands.

Good luck and keep us posted,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2002, 08:24 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 11,772
Larry - In that new shop don't forget to make room for the lift where it will be easier to do the work underneath and the overhead monorail/hoist . I have the EXACT same thoughts if I ever hit it.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2002, 08:25 AM
LarryBible
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Jim,

My current shop is not air conditioned, and if it were it would cost a zillion dollars a month in electricity. It is a metal building with NO INSULATION whatsoever. I do have overhead doors at the North and South ends of the building. In this part of the world we have a prevailing SouthWest wind, so this helps alot with both doors open in the summer.

I DO, however, have a walking beam overhead. There is no electric hoist on it, just a chain fall. I built this from pipe hanging from the rafters with some "dollies" from an industrial material handling "carrousel."

My shop looks like H$!! because there is too much junk crammed into it, but functionally it's not bad. Now if I could only come up with a lift and maybe a few hundred additional square feet.

Have a great day,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2002, 02:04 PM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
Dream Shop

I'd settle for a basic shop--all I request is Heavy Duty Ear Protection for when my Wife wants her car done , so she can go powershopping or power-gossiping and keeps on poking her head in the garage -to ask me when I will be finished....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2002, 11:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 45
Maybe a balance issue

I'm not an mb expert but I heard a roomer that the crank & flywheel were balanced as an assembly in the factory. If you want to change a flywheel you may need to have the assembly rebalanced. Ask around. As I said, I'm kinda new with mb.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2002, 01:25 AM
unkl300d's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 2,267
Manual 300D/240d hybrid

A member by the moniker of RIDGE (Ben)
put a 300D engine and manual trans into a 240D.

Look up his name and contact the guy.
__________________
1979 300D 199 K miles
1995 C280 95 K miles
1992 Cadillac Eldorado Touring Coupe 57K miles
********************
1979 240D 140Kmiles (bought for parents) *SOLD.
SAN FRANCISCO/(*San Diego)
1989 300SE 148 K miles *SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2002, 01:00 PM
LarryBible
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
mickey,

Some engines are internally balanced and others are externally balanced. This is what determines the need as you describe it. An externally balanced engine does indeed require the procedure you describe. I THINK the 616 and 617 are internally balanced, but I'm not sure.

Have a great day,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page