Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2017, 06:07 PM
Mighty190's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 393
w202 temp gauge doesn't work

This seems to be a common issue but none of the simple fixes seem to work. I have a 1995 c36 and the coolant temp has not worked the entire time I've had the car. I bought it with a blown head gasket so I'm guessing this played a role in that.

Up to now I have replaced all the cooling sensors on the thermostat housing and I swapped in a gauge cluster from a different car. Assuming the issue is somewhere between the two how should I go about this? Are there any other common points of failure I should look at?

__________________
Follow the team at:
http://www.forthesakeof.racing/
https://www.facebook.com/ForTheSakeOfRacing/

Current:
'74 450SLC
'89 190E
'95 E420

Previous:
'94 E320
'87 300E
'73 350SL
'75 450SL
'95 C36
'99 C43 55 swap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2017, 06:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,515
Does this have the large display HVAC control? If so, you will be able to get coolant temp readings by run engine, turn on blower, press and hold REST, then use the fan speed + - to scroll through the data screen. I think coolant is 05 or 06. If you get a valid reading the sensor is working.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2017, 06:16 PM
Mighty190's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 393
I have the small screen with all the buttons integrated into the wood panel. It is not the w210 style or the one with the knobs. I believe its the earliest style.

That is a very cool diagnostic hack though.
__________________
Follow the team at:
http://www.forthesakeof.racing/
https://www.facebook.com/ForTheSakeOfRacing/

Current:
'74 450SLC
'89 190E
'95 E420

Previous:
'94 E320
'87 300E
'73 350SL
'75 450SL
'95 C36
'99 C43 55 swap
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2017, 06:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,515
You still should be able to get limited data from that controller, i just don't know how.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2017, 09:42 PM
Mighty190's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 393
Ok. Ill do some research on it then.

__________________
Follow the team at:
http://www.forthesakeof.racing/
https://www.facebook.com/ForTheSakeOfRacing/

Current:
'74 450SLC
'89 190E
'95 E420

Previous:
'94 E320
'87 300E
'73 350SL
'75 450SL
'95 C36
'99 C43 55 swap
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page