Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2018, 07:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 51
06 E350 Not Shifting

Had a problem that started yesterday, noticed the car would not shift from lower gear to next gear - even using the manual shift to Upshift/Downshift. The other thing we noticed when this happens (it started as intermittent) the Sport/Comfort selection does not work and the indicators do not show up mext to the odometer.

Another odd symptom that occurs with the non-shifting, the gear shift lever cannot be moved from Drive to Park without turning the ignition off, then back on.

Is this something the small battery in the engine compartment controls?

Thanks,
LarryT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2018, 09:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 6
Looking at the info available to me there is a high likelihood that this issue involves a problem with either the transmission control module or the transmission itself. That said, it's not worth jumping to conclusions just yet.

Do you have a means of checking transmission fault codes? I'm willing to bet there's at least one fault code stored that could help identify the problem...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2018, 09:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by 15289577 View Post
Looking at the info available to me there is a high likelihood that this issue involves a problem with either the transmission control module or the transmission itself. That said, it's not worth jumping to conclusions just yet.

Do you have a means of checking transmission fault codes? I'm willing to bet there's at least one fault code stored that could help identify the problem...
Hello, No, I don't have a code checker but I might be able to get it to a FLAPS to ask them to check the codes.

Are the trans codes located in a different place than the rest of the codes? IOW, if I ask them to pull the codes will they need to go to different locations to plug in?
(I gotta get rid of this car - but it may have to go to Salvage at this point)
TIA,
LarryT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2018, 10:19 AM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,161
Plug it in at same place but read all the codes, not just the engine code. The reader (if right one) will allow you to read all codes.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2018, 10:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 6
Transmission fault codes can be checked from the same port as any other codes, however, a basic code reader that you buy at a parts store likely won't be able to do it.

Most codes readers aren't capable of reading any codes or sensor information beyond what is required to be available by law for emissions testing. Transmission codes fall outside of that so they are typically addressed in the CAN system at the free will of auto manufacturers and the addressing is different from manufacturer to manufacturer.

It's possible you can check them with something like the Carly app or with a paid add-on to the Torque app (I haven't looked for one for Mercedes yet) through a bluetooth OBD2 CAN module. There are also probably some consumer OBD2 readers available that can be used for Mercedes specifically (that may or may not be available for a reasonable price). Otherwise you could see if a repair shop will read the codes for you (cheap or free preferably).

A long time ago, in my quest to save money by repairing my own vehicles, I made good friends with a couple guys that own a repair shop in town. When I need to I go down to their shop and use their $50k worth of computers/software to do what I want. I realize that this isn't available to the average guy on the street but...that's how I get this info for myself. It's only cost me a few drinks to earn that privilege.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2018, 12:03 PM
ILUVMILS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_turn9 View Post
.....The other thing we noticed when this happens (it started as intermittent) the Sport/Comfort selection does not work and the indicators do not show up mext to the odometer.

Another odd symptom that occurs with the non-shifting, the gear shift lever cannot be moved from Drive to Park without turning the ignition off, then back on.......
Classic signs of shifter failure.......spill anything recently?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2018, 01:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,022
OP, do you have 4matic or not. The rwd and awd had completely different transmissions. If you have rwd you have a 722.9 transmission where the TCM is built into the conductor plate. It's going to get expensive. If you have 4matic you have the good old 722.6. Your pronosis is much cheaper. Either way you need an MB specific scanner tool.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 15289577 View Post

A long time ago, in my quest to save money by repairing my own vehicles, I made good friends with a couple guys that own a repair shop in town. When I need to I go down to their shop and use their $50k worth of computers/software to do what I want. I realize that this isn't available to the average guy on the street but...that's how I get this info for myself. It's only cost me a few drinks to earn that privilege.
An icarsoft mb2 or foxwell nt520 cost less than $200 and they can diagnose, run tests and reset every computer on a 211.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2018, 04:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 6
That icarsoft MB2 looks to be pretty badass. I just might get one for myself if the Carly app is as terrible as everyone says it is.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2018, 05:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 51
06 E350 Not Shifting

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILUVMILS View Post
Classic signs of shifter failure.......spill anything recently?
Nope, we bought this car last Dec and it has shifted flawlessly until yesterday. The shifts were so smooth I could hardly tell it was shifting. It always shifted at the right rpm as well. It was literally shifting perfectly one minute but not the next. It did do this off & on a few times. When my wife said it wouldn't shift I went out and drove it but had zero problems, but the next day it did it again, but this time it didn't come back.

So, I need to make some decisions. I also need to find a local Auto Trans. to run the codes. One thing I've noticed (especially around here with MB's) is they tend to go with the "better replace it" with "it" being any kind of repair.

I could take it to the MB dealer - they've always treated me well. But that's a long way to drive in 1st gear. It's roughly 30 miles.

Thanks for the suggestions.
LarryT
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2018, 05:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 51
Not sure about Op but my 2006 E350 is AWD. I should have mentioned that when I started this thread...
Thanks --
LarryT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-17-2018, 05:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 51
Forgot to ask, when you say "Shifter Failure" are you talking about the Shift Handle we move to select gears?

Is the Linkage Shifting a mechanical control or electronic/electrical?

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-17-2018, 06:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_turn9 View Post
Not sure about Op but my 2006 E350 is AWD. I should have mentioned that when I started this thread...
Thanks --
LarryT
Ok so you have a 722.6 5spd, you're in luck. Find an independent MB shop.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-17-2018, 07:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 51
tjts1 wrote " If you have 4matic you have the good old 722.6. Your prognosis is much cheaper. Either way you need an MB specific scanner tool."

Ok, it appears I have a 722.6 - when you say "much cheaper" - what kind of price are you talking? $1000 or $10000. much cheaper means different things to different people.
TIA...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-17-2018, 07:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_turn9 View Post
tjts1 wrote " If you have 4matic you have the good old 722.6. Your prognosis is much cheaper. Either way you need an MB specific scanner tool."

Ok, it appears I have a 722.6 - when you say "much cheaper" - what kind of price are you talking? $1000 or $10000. much cheaper means different things to different people.
TIA...
Look up the cost of a conductor plate replacement (the most common failure point in your situation) on a 722.6 and a 722.9. the TCM on the 722.9 is built into the conductor plate and coded to the car. Only a handful of shops are even allowed to buy the part. The 722.6 conductor plate is $60 on Amazon. But again, without reading codes we have no idea what's going on. If you have an 06 with SBC brakes, get the foxwell scan tool. It can deactivate and bleed SBC. Far more useful than the icarsoft.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-18-2018, 12:01 PM
ILUVMILS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_turn9 View Post
Forgot to ask, when you say "Shifter Failure" are you talking about the Shift Handle we move to select gears?

Is the Linkage Shifting a mechanical control or electronic/electrical?

TIA
Yes, I'm referring to the shifter assembly and yes, there is mechanical linkage. Also referred to as the ESM ( Electronic Shift Module ) it works both mechanically and electronically.

The fact that the gear display in the instrument cluster is blank is the key factor.........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page