Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2002, 01:23 PM
Amuso's Avatar
Addicted to gadgets
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 102
A/C troubleshooting...

I have my Klima Relay out in the process of cleaning up my cars electrical system and getting rid of all gremlins.

I opened it for fun, since I am always curious and into electronics... I found the relay inside totally fried. Parts of the circuit board too.

I am wondering what can cause this? Bad compressor shorting the circuit? Ideas? For the record the A/C has never worked since I got the car but has charge in it - had it measured.
__________________
99 W210 E220 cdi sedan automatic (248.000 km) 210.006
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2002, 01:28 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
in general, a bad compressor can blow out a fuse in the relay circuit. some systems have both a fuse and a circuit breaker. it shouldn't have reached the circuit board unless the fuse was jumped or a higher amperage one was substituted.
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2002, 03:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 571
I'm curious. If the system is not functioning(fried Klima), how was it determined that there's sifficient charge?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2002, 04:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,503
Hmmm... I've spent my share of time staring at the electrical schematic for the 124 air conditioning system, and I can't recall a fuse between the Klima and the compressor. I'd guess a shorted clutch coil on the compressor. It can be measured with an inexpensive DVM - I think it should have something like 4 Ohms resistance. Anything less, and it's fried.

BTW, it's impossible to determine whether the a/c system is fully charged without running the compressor. Certainly you can see if there's pressure in the system, but without actually running, it's impossible to distinguish between overfilled and barely filled.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2002, 05:39 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Of course there is a fuse. I forget the car here but a 300E gets its power to the Klima relay from fuse #7.

The fuse is an 8amp and the clutch coil shouldn't take more than 3 amps. Most burned spots in circuits that are fused come from poor contact and high resistance. A shorted coil that take 5-8 amps will overload the whole circuit and the fuse is there to protect the wiring. Control units have to protect themselves and usually do this with some form of current limiting (electronically). I haven't had too much trouble with the Klima relay being taken out by clutch coils but I have had two mAS units that it happened on. The MAS is used for the compressor relay and there is a different compressor on those cars. Honda alo has great trouble with there coils on their Nippondenso compressors, so it seams to be a common problem overall.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician

Last edited by stevebfl; 06-12-2002 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2002, 05:55 PM
Amuso's Avatar
Addicted to gadgets
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 102
It must be monday or something

The A/C was chargetested when it was working I meant.

What is actually burned off inside the Klima relay is the circuitpath from 15 (ignition coil) to the relay that output 87. The relay itself has stuff burned off from one of the pins too.

Probably had some bad connection making it go on/off/on/off flickering and burned it out. This car has had a lot of amatuer hacking to the electricals and half the stuff just goes dead over bumps and comes back.

Have the fusebox out now, and ready to install my new custom one
__________________
99 W210 E220 cdi sedan automatic (248.000 km) 210.006
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2002, 05:56 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
hmmm, no fuse huh? whatever happened to good old MB over-engineering? i was just speaking in general terms as i had just assisted someone with debugging a non-working compressor circuit in a toyota. it's not in the manuals but through a diligent search of usenet, i found that there was a fuse and a circuit breaker in the relay circuit. sure enough the fuse was blown and the breaker tripped...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page