Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2019, 07:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Saugus, CA USA
Posts: 2,033
How do I change the front brake pads on a 2005 C320 Sport

I have a 2005 C320 Sport that needs new front brake pads. It's a very different setup than I've done before. It looks like two bolts need to be removed to get the outside pad off, then two more to take the inside pad off. I loosened the outside bolts and brake fluid came out. I tried searching the internet about it and came up with nothing, but I know this is a rare car. Is it possible I have to drain the wheel cylinders to take the pads off?
__________________
5 speed '91 190E 2.6 320,000 mi. (new car, fast, smooth as silk six, couldn't find any more Peugeots)
5 speed '85 Peugeot 505 2.5l Turbo Diesel 266,000 mi. (old car, fast for a diesel, had 2 others)
5 speed '01 Jetta V6 (new wifes car, pretty quick)
5 speed '85 Peugeot 505 2.2l Turbo Gas 197,000 mi. (wifes car, faster, sadly gone just short of 200k )
5 speed '83 Yamaha 750 Maxim 14,000 mi. (fastest)
0 speed 4' x 8' 1800 lb Harbor Freight utility trailer (only as fast as what's pulling it)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2019, 03:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Anderson View Post
I have a 2005 C320 Sport that needs new front brake pads. It's a very different setup than I've done before. It looks like two bolts need to be removed to get the outside pad off, then two more to take the inside pad off. I loosened the outside bolts and brake fluid came out. I tried searching the internet about it and came up with nothing, but I know this is a rare car. Is it possible I have to drain the wheel cylinders to take the pads off?
Torx bolts? 05 sport should have fixed 4 pot calipers. I think you disassembled a perfectly good caliper. It'll need to be resealed.

Replacing pads on fixed calipers is really simple. You just need to tap out the 2 pins and the pads slide out. If you're just doing pads caliper can stay in place.
https://youtu.be/QATeyA20EF0

Last edited by tjts1; 07-06-2019 at 04:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2019, 06:37 AM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,241
Quote:
Torx bolts? 05 sport should have fixed 4 pot calipers. I think you disassembled a perfectly good caliper. It'll need to be resealed.
Thats the way I read it.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2019, 07:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Saugus, CA USA
Posts: 2,033
Ok, I see that now. It's too simple, I'm embarrassed I didn't see it. I remember now I've had cars that changed brakes that way and was annoyed not all cars I'd had lately did that.

So I pulled the pins and changed the pads, but now the brakes do funny things. I've had this happen before but forget why, the brake pedal goes to the floor but if I pump the brakes they are ok. When I loosened the torx as soon as brake fluid came out I tightened them. I'm thinking now I have to bleed that wheel. Any opinions?

It was mentioned it was disassembled and needed to be resealed. I didn't disassemble it, I just loosened it. Does that count? And what is resealing?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2019, 05:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 2,993
Jim, air entered the hydraulic brake system so you need to bleed the air from at least the caliper that leaked brake fluid. It's best to use a pressure bleeder. For safety sake bleed the affected caliper before driving your C320 again.
__________________
Fred Hoelzle
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2019, 10:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,112
Get a friend to pump the brakes pedal while you open/close the bleed screw. Have them stand on the brake pedal and carefully inspect the caliper for any leaks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2019, 01:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 2,993
Jim, if you decide to use the 2-man technique that tjts1 mentions then be sure to place a piece of 2X4 under the brake pedal so the travel of the brake pedal is limited. Otherwise, you may damage the master cylinder resulting in additional work to restore your brake system to "normal". As I mentioned, best to use a pressure bleeder.
__________________
Fred Hoelzle
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2019, 01:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferdman View Post
Jim, if you decide to use the 2-man technique that tjts1 mentions then be sure to place a piece of 2X4 under the brake pedal so the travel of the brake pedal is limited. Otherwise, you may damage the master cylinder resulting in additional work to restore your brake system to "normal". As I mentioned, best to use a pressure bleeder.
That's a non issue on the W203 master cylinder. It has a built in stop.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2019, 04:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,143
Does this car have SBC ( electronic braking )? If so, it needs to be disabled when changing parts as even opening the car door can cause the system to wake up and apply the brakes during it's test cycle. This can be a hazard if this occurs when the pads are removed or fingers are in the way.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2019, 06:33 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,241
I don't think this one had the SBC.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-07-2019, 09:06 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,043
No SBC on any C-class in the USA.

My 2005 C240 wagon had normal sliding single piston calipers....did the 320 have upgraded multi piston? If my wagon had had the 3.2 engine I'd have probably kept it forever. the 2.6 was gutless compared to the 3.2!
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 79k - mine - (OC-80,500)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 9k - wifes (OC-10k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 159k - mine (OC-160,000)
'89 420SEL 166k - mine (OC-167,000)
'01 E320 - 172k - dad's (OC-171,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 131k - dad's (OC-132,500)
'01 SL500 - 49k - dad's (OC-52,000)
'09 E350 4matic Sedan - 137k - Brothers (OC-141,500)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-08-2019, 12:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawoSD View Post
No SBC on any C-class in the USA.

My 2005 C240 wagon had normal sliding single piston calipers....did the 320 have upgraded multi piston? If my wagon had had the 3.2 engine I'd have probably kept it forever. the 2.6 was gutless compared to the 3.2!
All w203 wagons shipped to the US had the same 300mm sliding calipers. Only a handful of 05 C320 sedans with the sport package got the 4 piston brakes. Weirdly most C230 sedans shipped to the US included the same sport suspension and brakes with 2 or 4 piston 330mm brakes. I had to swap 4 piston brakes on my 02 C320 wagon. It's really quite easy and the braking power is phenomenal.

https://imgur.com/a/Ij4G3

I made the mistake of using 312/316mm E500 brakes because I listened to people on the forums who claimed 330mm W203 brakes don't fit inside 16" wheels. They were wrong.

And yes C240 2.6 engine is gutless compared to the C320. You can squeeze even more power out of the 3.2 by swapping injectors, airbox and throttle body from the 5.0L V8 M113. Then I got into suspension parts like C55 sway bar, springs and shocks which are direct bolt on. You can build a very fun to drive wagon out of a c320 but it takes a bit of work.

Last edited by tjts1; 07-08-2019 at 02:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-12-2019, 12:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Saugus, CA USA
Posts: 2,033
Done

I bled that wheel cylinder, with help from my experienced brake bleeder wife, changed the other wheel pads and the brakes are fine now. I did'nt need to add brake fluid, I guess some was added by the previous owner so when I pushed the pistons back it made up for what was bled.

But that leads me to a question: what kind of brake fluid does this car take. The brake cap says DOT 4+.

I also noticed there's a sensor only on one wheel. I reused the old one, I'll buy a new one at my future convenience.

There's a brake service notice that came up that I thought would go away when I changed the pads. It still comes on but just when I start the car, before it would come on almost every time I used the brakes. I thought there might be something wrong with the used one and took it out but the notice still comes up. Do I need to reset it or is the car smart enough to know if the sensor is good and I do need a new one?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-12-2019, 01:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,112
It takes dot4 as the cap mentions. You'll have to change the wear sensor to make the message go away.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-12-2019, 06:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Anderson View Post
There's a brake service notice that came up that I thought would go away when I changed the pads. It still comes on but just when I start the car, before it would come on almost every time I used the brakes.
Brake pad wear sensors are either an insulated loop of wire or a single insulated wire inserted into the edge of the brake pad. As the pad wears thin, the wire becomes exposed and also rubs through. When the wire rubs through the loop breaks connection / single wire becomes grounded.

In your case, it appears that it is a single wire because it only came on when brakes were applied and it no longer does so once the pads were replaced. RE: sensor wire is now insulated from the brake rotor.

Given the light post pad change turns on at start up and not during braking, this tells me that there might be software that says. " I've seen a low pad warning at some point, I no longer see it but will still alert the driver at start up."

This start up message might clear it's self after X drive cycles if it does not see a signal from the wear sensor or it might need a scan tool to reset.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page