Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2002, 03:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: south carolina
Posts: 44
Question still looking for tach sensor

Alright guys. I appreciate the responses I've gotten so far but I still can't find how the tach hooks on my 78 300D. There's no magnetic picup on the front of the crank. Nothing I can find around the flywheel. I have the motor and trans out on the floor so it's easy to look the whole deal over. But I can't find anything that might read engine rotation .
Likewise there was no plug on the back of the tach. Just a 2 prong jack for attaching a plug. Anybody have any ideas?. I'd like to put the gauge cluster into my 240 and hook up the tach since the 5 cyl will be there too but don't have a clue how to make it work.One of you MB tech guys has got to know. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2002, 04:57 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Well you got me confused.

The only diesel that would have had a tach in 78 would have been the 300SD (116 body). The cluster for a 116 body is not likely to fit either a 115 or 123 body 240D anyway.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2002, 10:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: south carolina
Posts: 44
Steve, thanks for the response. But if I understand you correctly, there shouldn't even be a tach in a 78 300D, correct??
The cluster from 300 is physically the same as the cluster in my 240 and will fit but the 300 cluster has the tach. Any idea how to make it work? I might could get the sensor and mount it (if I can find out where it's supposed to mount ) and run a wire to the tach.Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2002, 10:56 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
The tachs on 300D turbodiesels used a sensor reading off the front crank balancer till 1985. In 1985 the read the engine speed off the flywheel.

The sensor on the front of the motor sent the signal to a transducer that converted the induced AC signal into a squarewave pulse that the tach would accept.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page