Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2002, 03:33 PM
larrysiny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Power window stopped now working

This is new for my car an '86 560sl. Today as I started up the car to go to work, I tried to lower the window on the driver's side. It went down an inch and then stopped. It wouldn't work. The passenger side window worked ok. I looked for a bad fuse and there wasn't any. I had an extra power window switch and put that on and still nothing. An hour later went to the car to bring it to my local Mercedes rip off and the window works. I can't figure this one out..It's not like the motor got over heated.. Any ideas would be appreciated. I know this is going to happen again, probably at a place that is not good and leave me in distress with an open window. Thanks for any help.

Larry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2002, 03:36 PM
G-Benz's Avatar
Razorback Soccer Dad
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth
Posts: 5,711
Dirty console switches can cause intermittent operation like this one. Anyone spill coffee lately?

Try some electrical contact spray (Radio Shack has some) on the switch terminals...90% of the electrical problems experienced are caused by dirty or corroded terminals.
__________________
2009 ML350 (106K) - Family vehicle
2001 CLK430 Cabriolet (80K) - Wife's car
2005 BMW 645CI (138K) - My daily driver
2016 Mustang (32K) - Daughter's car
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2002, 03:45 PM
larrysiny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Iwill try that. I don't think that's the problem though. Here's another strange part of the situation as I drove the the car I feel something vibrating in the driver's door panel near the locking mechanism. This seems to be happening at all speeds. Almost like something is loose in there. But what? Everything is now working.... For now.
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2002, 05:02 PM
mikemover's Avatar
All-seeing, all-knowing.
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,514
Try a new fuse anyway...Sometimes they can appear to be good, but need replacing anyway due to corrosion, dirt, or a hairline crack that you can't readily see. A whole new set of fuses solved several electrical gremlins that my car had.

Mike
__________________
_____
1979 300 SD
350,000 miles
_____
1982 300D-gone---sold to a buddy
_____
1985 300TD
270,000 miles
_____
1994 E320
not my favorite, but the wife wanted it

www.myspace.com/mikemover
www.myspace.com/openskystudio
www.myspace.com/speedxband
www.myspace.com/openskyseparators
www.myspace.com/doubledrivemusic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page