Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2002, 01:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alpharetta (Atlanta), GA
Posts: 17
S320 idling too low

Hello everyone,
I have a 1994 S320, and not long ago the 'Check Engine' light came on, and now stays on constantly. Since this happened, the car idles too low, and will even stall if you increase the load while idling, such as by turning on the A/C compressor or turning the power steering to the max in one direction.
Another minor problem I've had recently is that heated air blows out of the A/C system, but only out of 1, or sometimes 2, vents while the other vents blow cold (I've typically noticed this on 80-90F days, having both sides of the Climate control set to the same value, around 68).
I appreciate any help and thanks in advance,
G. D. LeCroy
__________________
Glenn LeCroy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2002, 02:39 PM
it leaks, its german
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: raleigh nc
Posts: 1,111
A few things to check (none of which will turn off the CEL)

Base module fuses.
Fuses in the main fuse box.
Vacum leaks. (it would be a pretty big one)

From there, time to check codes. I've run into 119 engines with bad e-gas control modules and bad actuators causing the idle to be low and the throttle cable "feels" funny.

The base module is the back "black box" in the module case under the hood on the r/h side. (beside the blower motor)


Joe
__________________
Project Smoker, '87 603 powered wagon
Hauler, 96 CTD can you say torque?
Toy 73 Cougar xr7 convertible
Acme Automotive Inc.
Raleigh NC
919-881-0364
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2002, 02:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
Your car has a led lamp and push button switch under the hood
to get you the codes..
Do a search on the archieves for procedure and get the code that
tripped the CE lamp.. That will point you in the right direction
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2002, 09:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alpharetta (Atlanta), GA
Posts: 17
Mr. P,
I removed the cover on the 'black box' and checked the fuses in the base module and they are ok. Strange thing is that there are sockets for 4 fuses, but only 2 are there. Is this normal?

Mr. Dalton,
I sent you an email requesting the location of my code retrieval LED and how to operate it. I am posting here too to make doubly sure.

thanks for the help you guys,
Glenn
__________________
Glenn LeCroy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2002, 10:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alpharetta (Atlanta), GA
Posts: 17
Check that on the base module, it only has slots for 2 fuses. They just have large gaps in between.
__________________
Glenn LeCroy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2002, 09:14 AM
it leaks, its german
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: raleigh nc
Posts: 1,111
Yep, some only run 2 others run 4.

Get the codes pulled.


Joe
__________________
Project Smoker, '87 603 powered wagon
Hauler, 96 CTD can you say torque?
Toy 73 Cougar xr7 convertible
Acme Automotive Inc.
Raleigh NC
919-881-0364
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page