Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-22-2002, 11:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ma
Posts: 53
LOL, No problem, I'll try it tomorrow, Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-24-2002, 05:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ma
Posts: 53
One problem, There is no y connector! Theres a x and z unless the big connector/main, is the one your talking about? It doesnt say y on it though? Did you mean z? Thanks Rick
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-25-2002, 12:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Las Vegas, Atlanta
Posts: 669
The Y-connector is the big one!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-26-2002, 01:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ma
Posts: 53
Bob, I checked the big plug that plugs into the control unit and I dont see Y anywere but any way I checked every prong and I cant get no voltage with the wheel spin as you instructed. There are a couple of them that do indicate 12 volts constant. I dont know what else to say, Im confused please let me know what else to try or check, maybe something stupid were not thinking of? I bought the car for a great price and it was kinda not taken care of, although it is in good shape, so I dont know how long its been like this, Please let me know what you think, Thanks Rick
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-26-2002, 01:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Las Vegas, Atlanta
Posts: 669
Rick, if I have this correct, you still have code 29 stored in the soft top controller. You have driven the car, read the codes out twice, attempted to erase, but it is still there. Further, you have confirmed this code by failing to measure AC voltage on socket "9" of the Y-connector while the left front wheel spins at 1 rev/sec.

If the above is correct, then the trouble is somewhere in the ABS or the wiring between the ABS and the soft top controller. This begs the question: is your ABS functioning properly? If it isn't, troubleshooting that problem may be straight-forward and correcting it will probably fix the soft top as well. And if the ABS seems fine...well, it may be considerably more difficult to find a solution.

And hey. Do you mind posting what you paid for this car and how many miles it has? I'm trying to get an idea of how much to ask for my '90 300SL if I decide to sell it.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-26-2002, 02:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ma
Posts: 53
Bob, Yes I'm still getting code 26, 29, 30. If that big plug in the back side of the control box is Y then yes thats the one I tested. When you say left wheel do you mean drivers side? I tested the pass side wheel! Which one is #9 anyway, there not numbered although I checked them all, The ABS light was on when I bought the car but after I took off the plastic cover near the pass side firewall I noticed this Red box with 2-10 amp fuses and one of them,(factory fuse) was burt, I replaced and the light went out and the car even runs better. So the ABS light is off. Is there a way to diagnose the ABS like I did the Soft top? Maybe by the same pin connector method whata ya call it procedure?

As far as the car, its a 91, needs a front bumper cover, it was damaged by a tow truck, The tranny needs to be worked on, reverse seems to dissapear, and the top needs replacing, The 2 front seats are kinda rough and I plan on getting them done over at a local shop. Other than that the car is pretty straight, body is straight and clean and it runs great. it has 135,000 miles and I paid 9K. Tell me what you think and Thanks for all your time and help. Rick
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-26-2002, 05:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Las Vegas, Atlanta
Posts: 669
Your car sounds exactly like one that was on eBay a month or two ago, Rick. I think you got a great deal.

Which is socket "9"? Your right, they are not numbered on the connector. But they are numbered on the male end on the controller, and you can figure it out that way.

This guy here has bumper covers for all years for $300: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1867701404&rd=1

As far as diagnosing the ABS goes, I know close to nothing about it. I suppose that is a bit ironic, since I worked as an engineer for Bosch on the production lines that manufacture the ABS electronic control units. I do know that there are some built-in diagnostics, but I don't know how to retrieve or interpret them.

I can write to some folks at Bosch. It is a longshot, but possibly someone there can help. Meanwhile, perhaps it would be a good idea for you to post a new thread about your ABS. Surely one of the experts will have some ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-27-2002, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ma
Posts: 53
I WORKS! IT WORKS! IT WORKS!. WOO HOO! I cant believe it it finally works, I think I didnt take it for a long enough ride before. Yesterday I took the car up and down the street a few times and when I got in the driveway I just tried it and the freakin thing worked. And it works great. Bob Terry you took 100 pounds off my shoulders. Thank you a million times for sticking with me on this and everyone else who posted also. I hope someday I can Help someone.
Yes it is the one from ebay! The guy was in NH, about 2 and a half hour drive and I went with cash and he ended the auction. Hey thanks for the bumper info, I cant find one any where and new is about 1200 bucks. I feel like running outside and dropping the top just for kicks. Hey by the way, Isit really that hard to install a new one????????? Thanks Bob, Rick D in Ma.

Last edited by satern; 10-27-2002 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-28-2002, 12:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Las Vegas, Atlanta
Posts: 669
That's great, Rick! Reminds me of the time I first got mine to work.

I'm curious about something. Is that code 29 still stored, or did it clear itself automatically...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-26-2002, 11:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ma
Posts: 53
sorry I took so long to write back. No Bob the code is gone. Thanks again for all your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page