Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2002, 08:00 PM
Sasza
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Can I reprogram my keyless entry transmitter?

Hello Everybody.
I have a 2002 c240 that I lost a keyless remote, but not to worry I bough a brand new one on ebay in it's original unopen bag. I like to know If I can program this myself or can only a dealer knows how to do this. Is there anyone out here that can help me with instructions how to? Thanks to all.... Sasza
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2002, 12:00 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
The "keyless" remote on these is of course the smartkey itself.
These are ordered through Mercedes and are coded to the vehicle itself. It is useless to you, it will only work with the vehicle it was ordered for.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2002, 04:21 PM
Sasza
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by gillybenztech
The "keyless" remote on these is of course the smartkey itself.
These are ordered through Mercedes and are coded to the vehicle itself. It is useless to you, it will only work with the vehicle it was ordered for.

Gilly


Can you tell me if the dealer can reprogram the smart key to work on my car. The key is brand new and has been programed for another car.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2002, 06:50 PM
blackmercedes's Avatar
Just a guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,492
I asked my dealer this question, as our E300 had four keys. I wanted to reprogram one for the C230, giving each car three keys, instead of four and two. They said no.
__________________
John Shellenberg
1998 C230 "Black Betty" 240K

http://img31.exs.cx/img31/4050/tophat6.gif
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2002, 09:05 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
No, they can't. They are programmed by Mercedes-Benz at the key and lock facility. They are programmed with data from the MB master computer which has all the codes for all the possible keys for all MB's utilizing this technology.
Possibly MB "could" do it, but they likely would refuse. I don't even know how you would ask them. The dealer can't. We can't do anything which would affect the key itself. What we can do only affects the car itself. We can "block" a key to keep it from working, if for example a key is lost or stolen. We can later go in and "unblock" a key, although in some cases it requires a special "download" key from the lock and key facility to reauthorize a key.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page