Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2003, 06:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
400E (92) external temp meter

Hi all,

Is there any way to know if the external temp meter is installed in a 400E (The display does not show anything). Do not know if it is broken or not in place.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2003, 10:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Central Asia
Posts: 104
Here is photo of the temp sensor wire that comes out of the fusebox and goes to the front of the car. The temp sensor is located behind the front bumper (behind the license plate). It is possible that you don't have the sensor and the temp display is showing nothing. If you connect a 3k resistor instead of the temp sensor the display should show something like 20-30 degrees in celcius. Search the forum for the exact resistor values.
Good luck.
__________________
1989 230E, 8v, 166.000 km, updated to 94/95 trunk & hood
2002 Daewoo Nexia 50.000 km
Sold:
1987 VW Jetta GLE 16V, Recaro seats
1982 Volvo 240 DL (lovely car!)
and few more american cars.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2003, 10:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Central Asia
Posts: 104
sorry, here is a photo

Attached Thumbnails
400E (92) external temp meter-wire-lost.jpg  
__________________
1989 230E, 8v, 166.000 km, updated to 94/95 trunk & hood
2002 Daewoo Nexia 50.000 km
Sold:
1987 VW Jetta GLE 16V, Recaro seats
1982 Volvo 240 DL (lovely car!)
and few more american cars.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2003, 03:02 PM
J.HIDALGO's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 1,785
If the LCD window is black...

you need a new LCD unit. If it is gray and does not show any numbers, it is probably the sensor. You were not clear in your initial statement.
__________________
J.H.
'86 300E
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2003, 04:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
First of all I want to know if the car has this option installed, it seems in Europe it was an Extra, so I am checking if I should see anything or not

After that, I'll check for any broken items on the circuit. Thanks a lot for the responses.
Emilio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2003, 07:00 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
if it is not installed you won't see a green LCD panel. i believe the opening is covered with a piece of black plastic instead.
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2003, 04:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
That's right. It seems like a black plastic piece. I have chacked that the wire shown in the previous reply exists, but in the instrument panel seems not to exists the LCD. Thanks everybody.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page