Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2003, 04:28 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 154
Question Swapping radio's???????

Hey guys,

Has anyone here ever attempted to put a different model MB radio in their car than what came from the factory? Specifically, as long as the connections and pyhsical size of the radio are the same is their any reason I couldn't replace the radio in my 95 s420 with a radio from say, a 1999 X Mercedes?? Newer radios are cheap on ebay and I am wanting to upgrade. Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:35 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 1999
Location: So. Burlington, VT
Posts: 78
Hey 95S420! First off, I don't have a clue about your question but I am interested in responses...if you are unhappy with a 95 radio, imagine how my '89 sounds. Anyway..the reason for respondnig is to suggest that you put this post in the audio forum and you might get more response. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:57 AM
Posts: n/a
The mounting in the dash for most recent Mercedes radios is DIN so a standard single DIN sized radio will just slide into the slot. So from this aspect, a lot of radios will fit. "Keys" can be inserted into two little slots at the bottom of the radio to remove it. You can buy the keys for a few dollars or you can make your own.

The bad news is that some models in you time frame had two piece radios with a head unit in the dash and an another box in the back of the car.
The E class in this time frame had this but I am not sure about the S class. Even if the radio fits, the wiring would not allow for a direct swap. The good news is that Becker has cable sets made to use other radios so you might check with them.

If you have a cd changer, most later models will not work with an earlier CD changer. In particular, most of the 99 and later models have a fiber optic interface that is completely different that the earlier models. This is also true for phone systems integrated into the radio system.

Perhaps you should try listing this on the audio forum. You can also search that forum as well and a lot is probably already answered there.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 10:04 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 154
Thanks guys

I appreciate the input. My radio is an "all in one" unit so to speak. The plugs on the back appear to be identical all the way up until the changeover to fiber optic. I dont see any reason why this wont work. I am positive that the newer units will physically fit and plug in but I am just concered that some of the wiring may have changed over the years. May be worth the $100 on ebay to try though.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page