Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2003, 02:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Surrey, Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 750
Oil Level Sensor Torque Spec.

Replaced the rubber gasket last summer, but still leaks.
Oil seems coming from connector itself (in the middle,
where you connect wire). I plan of replacing whole
sensor unit in my next oil change.

Does anyone know the correct torque for the sensor?
Do I need new bolts? Thanks.
__________________
joel

Prayers bring forth enlightenment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2003, 02:40 PM
Chris17H
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What Model/year??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2003, 02:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Surrey, Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 750
89 300E, thanks.
__________________
joel

Prayers bring forth enlightenment.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2003, 08:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 375
Hi Joel,

if it is like my '87 420, the plastic piece is held by a clip and there is nothing to torque. You can see a picture on my post about it. The sensor inside the oil pan is held by 2 small bolts and I just tightened them without torque wrench.

It's the oil sump seal, that needs watching...

Reinhard Kreutzer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2003, 08:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Surrey, Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 750
hi RK, on the 300E it in the driver's side of the oil sump.
sensor is held by two bolts. Just did not want to over
and under tighten it, since it will have the same result - leak!
__________________
joel

Prayers bring forth enlightenment.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2003, 01:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Surrey, Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 750
well, anyone?
__________________
joel

Prayers bring forth enlightenment.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2003, 02:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 375
Hi Joel,

this is the inside of the sump with the sensor (red) going through the wall and being held at the outside by a clip. The wire goes to the sensor that reads the oil level.
Attached Thumbnails
Oil Level Sensor Torque Spec.-inside-sensor.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2003, 02:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 375
and this is the sensor which is held by the 2 little screws. I don't think there is a torque value for this.

Reinhard Kreutzer
Attached Thumbnails
Oil Level Sensor Torque Spec.-oil-level-sensor.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2003, 07:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Surrey, Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 750
thanks RK. great shots!
__________________
joel

Prayers bring forth enlightenment.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page